The Thought That Counts

Okay, I know it’s the thought that counts. I really appreciate the thought and the love that is behind it. But, when my human wants to make dinner easier on me (because I complain people don’t eat my healthy food) and he brings home  subs, pizza, or other take out food, it may mean no left-overs, but it is not really good for me.

He cooks really well, but it tends to be boxed or canned food altered in his own way. I admit, I  eat a lot of it because it tastes good, but I know I shouldn’t.

Now, when it comes to the grill, he is a master and it is healthy. I definitely enjoy anything that comes off the grill. The only problem is it is always accompanied by something that comes out of the deep fryer. I think the deep fryer is one of the most commonly used appliances in my house, second only to the coffee maker.

The problem is, though he is doing it because he loves me, he always makes too many fries – even when I swear I don’t want any. Then he literally puts a plate of fries in front of my face and I can’t (CAN’T) resist.

I know that I am the only one putting food in my mouth, but it is difficult to resist – especially when it is literally put in front of your face.

So, when I decided I was going to eat healthy, I vowed to make food just for myself and let the rest of the family eat according to their appetites. I could force the healthy food, but I did that when they were little and I am satisfied that they got the proper head start. Now is the time for me to take care of myself so I can continue to be here for them.

Last night’s meal of cube steaks with a rosemary seasoning was fantastic. The others ate it on rolls, I ate it on a salad. My human fried fish and fries and guess what- he did not make too many. I think he finally understands what I want and I really appreciate his supporting me.

 

Today I made something new because Joey suggested it and I have enjoyed getting to know Joey, so I tried it. It was helpful that I had it in my house.

I made quinoa – which I’ve made before but I didn’t like it.

Here’s how I made it. I boiled 1/4c quinoa in 1/2c beef broth. I make my own broth with bones and whatever veggies I have in the fridge. It took a long time because I had to bring it to a boil, cook for 15 minutes and then let it sit for 5 minutes.

While it cooked I cut up scallions, cilantro and flat parsley (I was supposed to use just parsley, but I didn’t have enough), fresh mint from my garden, 1/2 a plum tomato and a lemon.

 

image

 

I tasted the quinoa when it was done. It might be because I cooked it in broth this time and had used water the one time I tried it before, but I actually was impressed with the taste.

Then I mixed all the ingredients together and squeezed the lemon over the top. It was really good, but I decided to wait 10 minutes so the ingredients had a chance to become intimate with each other before I devoured them.

image

Of course I had to put it in a Chinese food to-go container. That made it taste expensive!

The directions on bag of quinoa recommended cucumber but I didn’t have any. It also said to use feta cheese and kalamata olives which I guarantee would be delicious, but not on my list of things to eat.

The family went to see the Orioles play today so I know they will be eating hot dogs and all that. I don’t feel I’m missing anything. I enjoyed my lunch and I will probably eat the left over cube steak for dinner.

I want to thank Joey for getting me to try something new.

Feel free to recommend any super foods you think I should try.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Mock Lap Band Surgery, Uncategorized
6 comments on “The Thought That Counts
  1. joey says:

    Yummy! Yay! I’m glad you liked it. Quinoa is very versatile. Think of it like rice or oats, you can do whatcha like. You can even bake with it. Nom nom 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good for you and it looks yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Josh Wrenn says:

    I love quinoa! I couldn’t say it correctly until just about a year ago. Hannah used to make a really good Southwestern quinoa recipe with corn and cilantro and jalepeno in it. It was deliecious and we would have it with carne asada.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

