Same Course Second Time is a Charm

Today’s lesson in my blogging course – the one I took 2 years ago and just barely passed – involved changing a blog to a website. I found this challenging because the instructor is now using WordPress.org instead of WordPress.com and the settings are different. He used something called Reading Settings which, of course, I could not find. Fortunately I did find a help section on my site and was able to use the Appearance/Customize section to change my home page to a static page.

I also set up a new page, entitled blog, which should hold all my recent posts. The only trouble was the part when he noted that the blog would be blank because filling it in would be the next lesson.

Um, Hello? I need it to be functioning today, thank you very much!

I had to read one section at least three times before I got it. I had not understood the 3rd task saying “From the drop-down next to Posts page, click” (should be blog in my case).

Wow, such a few words that I skipped over which make such a difference. This might be why I am taking this course again. I simply did not have enough background knowledge to fully understand everything that was being presented to me.

I am proud of myself for making this change. It is a great start to really making my website what I hope it will become. I was going to redo my About page, but I think it is alright for now. Small steps, just one step at a time, I will get there.

I am still Marching Ahead.

Have a wildly whimsical Wednesday everyone.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in March Ahead, Uncategorized
12 comments on “Same Course Second Time is a Charm
  1. Sally says:

    I want to learn how to do the Static Page too! Where did you get the info on that?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Because I am using WordPress.com, I went into the WP Admin, clicked Appearance, Customize, then at the bottom clicked static home page. In the box that appears I put home page as my static page (and actually created a home page) and wrote blog for post page. That was the key, the post page because otherwise I think they disappear. I hope this helps you.

    Like

  3. joey says:

    The Reading Settings are in your WP Admin, toward the bottom, Settings, then Reading.
    I appreciate a static page when I’m new to a site, but it also has to be easy to navigate to the latest. I’m glad you’re getting so much done with your blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Phil R says:

    It’s looking good, Manee 🙂 I didn’t think it was the easiest thing to get my head round when I first started using WP and incorporated help from my daughter. And your About page is lovely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. becomebetty says:

    Blogging isn’t easy. You don’t realize how little you know until you do it. (And redo it). I moved from WordPress.com to WordPress.org. It was scary. Things are slowly getting better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

