Projecting Myself into the World

Today’s stream of consciousness prompt from Linda Hill is Project.socsbadge2016-17

It reminds me of when I was a child trying to make my way in the world on stage. I would have to project my voice to be heard and I needed to be sure I enunciated my words both spoken and sung. I never got a lead part in a play and those parts I did get were never performed in any spectacular way, but I did learn something. I learned to enunciate.

Now that I am trying to make my way on the stage that I call the stage of life as a writer, I am reminded of Mr. B who was my childhood choir teacher. Boy did he stress enunciation. Even to this day I find myself singing our warm up scales – Copper kettles carry comfort killing cough and cold, tinkers tell their tales at tea until their tales are told. I hope to enunciate my words clearly to be understood by my readers.

Another memory that comes to mind using the word project is how many times I have used an over-head projector as a teacher. Those were wonderful things. I really enjoyed them. They aren’t used in classrooms anymore. They have been replaced by Smart Boards which are really cool in their own way as long as the Internet is working.

When I spent hours painting animals and trees on my children’s bedroom walls I really wished I had a projector to outline my sketches. It was more difficult to get the sketches just right, but I managed. The rooms were quite beautiful – at least as far as my kids and I were concerned. I wish I had pictures to show, but I don’t.

English is such a funny language. Project is not just projecting your voice or an image onto a wall. It is also a task to be completed. I have a project to work on this weekend.

Yesterday I wrote about my goals for my blog. I thought it was quite reasonable to try to get 500 followers. Then my friend, Joey, suggested that I read and comment on 500 blogs today. Well, now, there’s a challenge. It isn’t just a challenge – it is a major PROJECT.

Well, I have now read and commented on 19. Not anywhere near 500. Oh, Jolene, Jolene, JOLENE, what you do to me!

wp-1486477119728.jpg

Fancy is ready for the stage

That’s it for now. I have to go because I have some serious reading to do.

About

I love gardening and magical beings. My profile is a garden ready to be created,

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
27 comments on “Projecting Myself into the World
  1. John Holton says:

    Right, you don’t have to visit all the blogs at once. Do a few a day. A good way to do it is to comment on the blogs of people who comment on the blogs you read.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That is what I have been doing. Thanks for supporting my line of thinking. Still, I will try to read 500 this weekend- not possible in one day while still interacting with the humans in my house and caring for the beast!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Fancy looks like she’s ready to enunciate. I like your “as long as the Internet is wotking” comment. It’s so true.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Life’s a stage enjoy every step on your way to projecting yourself as a writer. Fancy looks all dressed up and cute 🙂

    I am hosting a blog party and would like to invite you. Here’s the link

    It’s a Spring Party… Let’s Groove 🎶🌻🌷⚘🌺🍉🍔🍗🍿🍦🍻💃

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ghostmmnc says:

    Oh, I do remember those projectors to enlarge a picture. I was a teacher’s aide for awhile, and got to make big pictures for the classrooms. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I liked it! I don’t think 500 is quite necessary! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joanne Sisco says:

    You mentioned that one of your goals is to double your followers. Have you considered the A to Z challenge in April? It makes for a very challenging month, but it does dramatically increase your exposure – both as a reader and as a blogger.
    The added bonus is that it stretches your writing muscle and creative muse at the same time.
    Here’s the link if you’re interested … http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

    I’ve done it 3 years in a row. The first year I sign up the day before and winged it every day. The following 2 years I had a theme and spent weeks preparing posts in advance. Both styles have merit.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. joey says:

    Man, I loved teaching with overheads and transparency pages… How OLD am I? I only found out about smartboards last year. No chalkboards and whiteboards in use anymore. Isn’t that crazy? But so much tidier, I’m sure.

    Sorry about the 500, but you know, I honestly read at least 70 posts a day. I average about 200 views a day and about 50 Likers. That’s why I read what I want to and mentally flip off the rest of em. 150 people readin and not sayin a thing, psh, I ain’t workin for them, I blog for pleasure 😉 *roars* Amuse me Blogosphere!!! 😛 Haha, okay, I’ve had a big day, I might be overexcited.

    Best wishes, always.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This has been a challenge. I wanted to like some without commenting, but I was challenged. You are more successful than I am, but I happen to know white boards and black boards still exist. They are just more difficult to use.

      Liked by 1 person

      • joey says:

        Yes, the whiteboards and chalkboards are still in the classrooms, but the girls say no one uses them at all. Strange to me. Of course, I go to work and get impressed about technology that wasn’t there 20 years ago… Same stuff. lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ask the girls about substitute teachers trying to show something to the class without access to the Smart Board. It is difficult.

        Liked by 1 person

      • joey says:

        Sassy says the subs don’t do anything on any boards. She says some of them discuss their personal lives, or interview them.
        Also, our township’s having a sub fair. LOL

        Sorry. I just, I used to sub and I can’t even now.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, well, I am revealing something now. I have a little slot of blackboard on which to write. It is EXTREMELY difficult. I do wish I had more room to write. The students just don’t understand why I don’t have computer access.

        Liked by 1 person

      • joey says:

        I can imagine your burden, absolutely.

        (you can always delete. i do it plenty.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Also, what is a sub fair? For me it would be a chance to eat submarine sandwiches (also known as hoagies).

        Liked by 1 person

      • joey says:

        MMM, I love sammiches!

        It’s like, come, bring your resume, mingle, sign up for testing, blah blah, like a job fair, but for subs.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Crazy. I want no part of it. Sammiches…. yep, begging for a chance to work, nope. Why I want to be successful as a writer/blogger/motivational speaker

        Liked by 1 person

      • joey says:

        Excellent plan!
        Subbing’s fab when you can get a long-term gig, where you’re paid the actual salary, and receive benefits, and get your own access to stuffs and fings. But even long-term is short-term. :/

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Phil Ryan says:

    500! I’m reminded of a scene from The Great Escape… Richard Attenborough (Bartlett) reveals to Steve McQueen (Hilts) how many prisoners he wants to lead to freedom. Hilts response is a gobsmacked “250!!”
    Did Joey add a 0 by mistake or, as it’s Sunday, maybe the 5 was the mistake… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Kalida AK says:

    Genuinely written! As you stated,” I hope to enunciate my words clearly to be understood by my readers” is what I strive for as well as a young writer! I feel the need to express my ideas and thoughts in my writings since I enjoy listening to the rhythm of life and growing through its melody!
    Thanks for your post. Looking forward to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment