March Ahead: Step Four

Have you ever heard the words, Take a picture it will last longer?

Usually it means stop staring at someone,  but for today’s step, it means something different.

So far we have determined what is a problem area in our lives, where we want to be by the end of March and our ultimate “end” goal. Now we have to take a picture of where we are at this moment. Why? Because our minds are funny things, they play tricks on us and we often can’t see how far we have come in our journey.

I took a picture of my porch.

 

Looking at this picture, I could easily complain because there is something staining the boards. I can feel terrible because there is so much yet to be done.

However, because I took a picture before I started cleaning it, I can clearly see improvement has been made.wp-1488551781476.jpg

Another picture I took was one of myself in a bathing suit. No, I am not sharing it. As I looked at the picture I focused on the fact that my thighs are so much thicker than I would like. Did I get upset? No, I decided this was a perfect before picture. I am not focusing on my weight for the month of March, so I will save it for later. I recently went out with friends and found my face on Facebook. I really liked the picture. I could compare it to a picture from just a year ago. My thought – Wow I look so much better. See – pictures last so much longer.

If I didn’t have pictures, I would be looking at myself every day and wouldn’t notice the difference because it is gradual changes.

My goal for March is to have 500 followers, 20 daily likes, and 10 daily comments. I based these on my stats as they are.

I can take pictures of my stats. WordPress provides them for me and I can go back in time. I have 184 WordPress followers right now and I have followers from other sites. I have several comments each day and it has been increasing these last 6 days.

I have a picture from the first month I started my blog. It is a post-it note my human put on the medicine cabinet in our bathroom. He was being so supportive and I treasured finding it one morning after he’d left for work.

wp-1488830958855.jpg

My blog did not top 100 followers that day. It didn’t even reach 100 for at least 6 months, possibly a year, but I kept faith because I had that picture to inspire me.

Now I look back and can clearly see how far I have come. It is a wonderful feeling.

So go out and take your pictures. You don’t need to share them with anyone else, you are the only one who needs the reminders.

Special note for my friend, Phil, who is working on his bar chords. You will be better served recording your music than taking a still picture. 😉

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
9 comments on “March Ahead: Step Four
  1. joey says:

    Is good. Reminds me of when I clean my back patio, which is sometimes, in the spring, like FINDING it. lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Phil Ryan says:

    Oh thanks, Manee, a special note is very special. 🙂 Even when hinting at my stupidity.
    I haven’t taken any pictures. I wasn’t sure if there was any film in the camera… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was not hinting at your stupidity. I was pointing it out for those who might wonder how to take pictures of such talent. If I had intended to point out any (nonexistent) stupidity, I would have been blatant about it. 🤣

      Liked by 1 person

      • Phil Ryan says:

        Oh I know, Manee, even when I read ‘I was not hinting at your stupidity, I was pointing it out…’ I refuse to take offence 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    Great advice. I started taking before and after photos when I was doing various renovations around the house. It’s an amazing reminder of how much progress has been made.
    … now, to go take some photos …

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anxious Mom says:

    What a sweet note! Good luck with your stats this month and building your blog. Do you have Instagram? I bet your pictures of the flamingos would be a hit, and you could include the link back to your blog for people to read more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

