The Sweet Rewards of Chauffeuring the Employed

It was bound to happen and it finally did.

One of the offspring has the ability to drive (and drives quite well indeed) but is only “permitted” to drive with a licensed driver who has had a full-license for over three years.

Of course the offspring could not resist the opportunity to be employed. It’s a great job for a youngster and pays money that doesn’t come out of my pocket. It’s really one of those perks of offspring aging.

Well, of course, it means I had to go to the school, pick up and chauffeur said offspring  to the place of employment.

Guess where that is.

Guess!

An ice cream shop.     YUM!

I couldn’t resist a nice treat for myself.

20170509_150831

The nice person behind the counter “flipped” it into a dish so it would make it home.

20170509_151658

I took a bite as soon as I got home and it was still perfectly formed.

It’s mint with chocolate mint candies mixed in it. I had it dipped in chocolate because that is what makes it special. It’s what they used to call a “baby” cone because a small has two scoops, but the girl said, “One scoop?” so maybe she was just clarifying I knew what I was ordering, or they changed the term.

20170509_152302

The point in time when my stomach said, “No more, thank you.”

I put the “left-overs” in the freezer. I will probably finish it in the next hour, but I felt quite full.

It was a great idea to bring it home. Nothing melted all over me AND I didn’t have to finish it in one sitting.

I hope the human does more of the chauffeuring this summer. I might get fat otherwise.

What have you had to drive your children to that turned out to be a reward rather than a punishment?

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in gratitude, Uncategorized
10 comments on “The Sweet Rewards of Chauffeuring the Employed
  1. Dan Antion says:

    My most favorite thing wasn’t so much driving but I was asked to go with my daughter when she did photo shoots in a couple of sketchy neighborhoods, while in art school.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    Well, the symphony. We both enjoyed it before, but we’d kinda forgotten, cause so many kids and so little money and barely any time — but now we can go again and it’s cause we took Sassy 🙂
    Also, I just finished some ice cream 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    That ice cream looks so good! I had to drive my daughter to one of her first jobs, which was at TCBY yogurt shop, and yes, we ate lots of it, too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Erika says:

    That looks great. I’ll definitely be encouraging mine to get a job at an ice cream shop or a pizza place when it’s that time. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

