If Only Changing My Body Were this Easy

I have been keeping up with my blogging courses fairly evenly. In other words, I am on the same lesson for both courses and, because both have the same instructor, my last lessons were on theme.

On Monday I tried to do a trial of several themes and ended up making the switch accidentally. I could not remember what my old theme had been so I was unable to easily switch back. Did I panic? No. I simply tried to make due with what I had and then called it a day… really, I told my computer to sleep on it (literally, put it in sleep mode) and walked away wondering if my new menu option was going to be a deterrent to readers and if I would be able to figure out how to fix it.

A funny thing happened. My friend, Joey, commented that she thought my site looked clean which I took as an extreme compliment from someone who likes cleanliness. Then she suggested that, after a good night’s rest, I might want to fix my links. Not surprising,  that was the next lesson in my courses.

So, today I worked on my links. I found some of my links were not working anymore – especially the one for my book which I had changed. I was able to correctly link sites and pages with little to no effort. I am getting good at this!

Then I noticed that I had two menus which had the same information. Really, who needs two menus? I quickly found out how to delete the second menu. I also deleted some pages I have yet to create but had put in as place markers.

Overall, I think the changes have made my site much more user-friendly. This is just a small step, but it is a good step towards reaching my goal of having a successful website.

Here’s to changes that make us happy. If only I could take a day off and transform most of the fat in my body to muscle. Oh, well, not all change is easy.

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Blogging Course, March Ahead
18 comments on “If Only Changing My Body Were this Easy
  1. Joanne Sisco says:

    Not all change is easy for sure!!

    I spent 90 minutes in WP hell trying to set up my new blog for our journey on the Trans-Canada trail. It’s been painful. After an hour and a half, I had to walk away. I still haven’t figured out how to put “likes” on my new blog. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I should know. Give me a minute.

      Like

    • I got it! Go to your Admin, click on plugins and then go down the list until you get likes. You may also want to enable comments. Be sure to let me know when I can view your new blog, I enjoyed the pictures on today’s post.

      Like

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Thanks for your help, Manee. It turns out I did have them activated, and have them selected for all posts.
        What is puzzling me is why I’m still not seeing *likes* for the About page…which was the only page I have written at that point.
        I’ve literally spent HOURS looking at themes thinking it was a theme issue. I still don’t know why I’m not getting *likes* for the About page, and I guess I’ll have to wait until I publish my first post to see if it shows up properly on blog posts.
        In the meantime, I’ve reverted back to the theme I selected 6 hours ago. Grrrr.

        Thank you for your interest in my new blog. I’ll be sure to prepare a blog post on my current blog with the url of my new blog when it’s ready for prime time 🙂

        Like

      • Ok, just to let you know, pages are different than posts. Usually pages don’t have likes or comments. You can go into that page and chachange the setting

        Like

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I figured it out!!!! Leave it to WP to have a separate Options menu for the About page.
        Thanks again 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s what friends, and my studying, is for! 😉

        Like

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Holy cow, this has been painful. I don’t recall the setup of my previous blogs this difficult.
        Thank you, my friend. Knowing you were on the other end of another potential plea for help has kept me sane the past couple of hours!

        Liked by 1 person

      • As Joey told me, get a good night’s rest and try tomorrow. I believe in “spirit” sending answers in our dreams. Of course it’s after 8 here, I don’t know what time zone you’re on. I am more geographically challenged than the average bear.

        Like

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        It sounds like we are in the same time zone … and yes, I’m going to have earned my sleep tonight!

        Like

      • I just noticed I wrote chachange instead of change and now I have that song “Changes” by David Bowie in my head.

        Like

  2. joey says:

    And now, it’s pink with a softer font 🙂 It’s fun playing, once you’ve managed to get the essentials down. Take a bit off my mid-section, will ya? It’d be so much easier to find pants that fit!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] thanks to Manee Trautz for keeping me sane this afternoon as I fumbled around with settings and […]

    Like

  4. elliebleu says:

    I’ve also been doing a little Spring cleaning on my blog. 🙂 Your site looks super organized. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Phil R says:

    Looking good, Manee, looking very good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

