I Could See and Feel Spring

Saturday was a gorgeous day. I swear it was lovely. The sun was shining, the temperature was in the upper 70s and I spent much of the day puttering around the property. The youngest had a fire in the fire pit and it was so nice to sit next to it and see all the beautiful flowers budding around the property.

I swear spring came to visit These Fair Woods. It was here. It was lovely. There was a little rustling in the shed as the flamingos started to stir from their hibernation.

On Sunday I walked around the entire property and made mental notes of what I want to accomplish between now and September.

  • clear the trash from the shoreline
  • harvest the driftwood
  • clear the gardens of weeds and leaves
  • get rid of the brambles in the woods
  • clean the green off the house
  • have above ground gardens installed

There was quite a list. My favorite was actually setting up an example of what exactly I want for my garden. I was told it will be easy and completed before too long. I am not holding my breath because the definition of not too long is different for me than the others in my home.

wp-1490623421580.jpg

Outline of one of the boxes. It’s approximately 3 1/2 feet square

I found a great piece of driftwood to inspire my creativity.

wp-1490623218853.jpg

I think it looks like a cardinal, but at another angel I saw a squirrel.

Today it is raining and the fire is once again burning in the house. It is not a pleasant spring day and I might be fooled into thinking Saturday never happened.

But I know Saturday was beautiful and flowers are blooming. I was smart, I got proof.

wp-1490622629608.jpgwp-1490622619551.jpgwp-1490622609030.jpg

The container is a glass I received when I ordered a fancy drink in some restaurant. It gives me hope that fancy drinks of the summer are going to be enjoyed again.

Spring has officially sprung, but the wonderful weather was but a passing friend.

Happy Monday!

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in character building, Uncategorized
22 comments on “I Could See and Feel Spring
  1. Angie says:

    Love the driftwood and the beautiful flowers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s something amazing about yellow flowers … It really makes the day bright! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sally says:

    Could you send a little of that spring stuff to upstate New York?

    Love the photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Phil R says:

    Oh your proof is lovely, Manee. We’re on our third sunny day on the trot and we don’t tend to get such treats even in Summer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    Oooh! I love the new look over here! It’s so clean 🙂
    So, I’m jealous your daffies are up, but kinda glad it’s not warm here right now. I’m excited for your garden boxes, cause I’m excited about mine!
    I love the cardinal driftwood. I tried, but I can’t see the squirrel…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joanne Sisco says:

    There is nothing quite like a spring day to boost the spirits! Even better when you have the flowers to prove it 🙂

    I love the piece of driftwood. You mentioned cleaning the shoreline. Do you live on the edge of a lake? River? Ocean? I’ll keep this in mind the next time I want to complain about yard work. I don’t have a shore line to keep clean 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • River. It has (unfortunately) been a few years since I frequently visited it. Now that I have lost 30+ pounds and the youngest made the path easier, I noticed all the trash and wood the water brought ashore. In my many years of life, that water/beach has been a wonderful gift.

      Like

Leave a Reply

