Goals and Planning

Today I started the course on WordPress again. I had taken it when I first started blogging, and decided to take it again as a refresher. Wouldn’t you know, they changed the course. Now, instead of using WordPress.com, they are using WordPress.org which, of course, costs money. Yeah, there is a free trial period of 3 months, but I am not going to do a trial only to then switch back, so I am going to do the best I can without switching.

Yes, I had stated that at some point I might want to upgrade to a new version, but I am not ready for that yet. So there, instructor, see me sticking my tongue out at you and being the stubborn student I am.

Anyway, the second lesson involves goals and planning for the blog. I guess I missed that the first time around.. I know I have stated goals for March, but I don’t think I really have a complete idea of what I want my blog to be about, more than just trying to inspire people. I I feel it is important for me to have a focus, or rather a theme to my blogging.

I have had a vague idea of what my theme would be – something like encouraging others to follow their dreams, or become the best they can be. Something like that sounds worthy of my time, but it is vague and I just don’t know what I want. Hmm, maybe this course won’t be exactly what the instructor expects for me, but if it makes me think about what I am doing, that might be just what I need.

What about you, do you  have a defined purpose for your blog?

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in March Ahead
10 comments on “Goals and Planning
  1. Dan Antion says:

    Good luck as you try to figure this all out. I have the simple goal of trying to be entertaining with occasional learning thrown in. Maybe share an opinion here and there.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Phil R says:

    I think it gave an occasional hobby more structure and developed from there. It’s nice to post a piece you’re pleased with and find others find it half decent too and it’s been a nice way to keep the mind troll at bay 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    I like the self-expression, and of course the connections I make with other bloggers. It’s also a kind of diary.
    I can’t believe they make you pay for that.
    Scrivener, too. The software is cheap in comparison to thorough training. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. elliebleu says:

    It is funny how your blog evolves over the course of a year. Mine is a foodie blog. In the future, the blog will connect the recipes back to my first novel. With more traffic, I was able to gain the attention of some of my favorite authors. Now I’m doing a series of Q&A’s with them. I think encouraging others to follow their dreams is a wonderful theme!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

