March Ahead: Step Two

Now that we have identified the problem we want to focus on this month, the next step is to clearly state what success will be.

Remember my problem is that I do not have a career and I want one. As you can see, I defined what I hope my career will be on my poster board. wp-1488464653086.jpg

I chose three areas that I think go well together. By blogging I am building a community and practicing my communication skills. This helps with my writing so my books will be well received. As a motivational speaker, I will be able to inspire others. Remember my tag line: Inspired to write, writing to inspire. It all goes hand-in-hand.

I realize these expectations defining my career are not detailed, but they aren’t vague either. They set the stage for exactly what I want. I don’t just want a blog, I want it to be successful. I don’t want to just have my book in the cyber space, invisible to the world. I don’t want to just speak to people around me, I want to motivate people through my words. I have set fairly clear guidelines for my career and that is enough for today.

The assignment for today is to dream. Dream BIG. Imagine your life as it will be when you meet this goal. Pretend it has been accomplished, how will you feel, what will you do? Enjoy the feeling of success even though you have not yet attained it. Dreaming doesn’t hurt.

Write a paragraph or two about your own perfect world.

The possibilities of what you desire are endless

1.Have enough money for a dream vacation

2. Be able to run after your children on a playground

3. Get a promotion

Whatever is your desire, write it down. Don’t be afraid to write down unrealistic dreams. You will never move forward unless you dream big.

 

Here is my paragraph:

I am on the Ellen DeGeneres show as a guest. (Big Dream!) We are talking about my latest book series for children. The books contain beautiful illustrations and Ellen just can’t stop telling me how impressed she is with my work. We talk about the seminars that I have lined up across the country and she reminds the audience to find the link on her website so they may sign up to hear me speak. She thanks me for making such a lasting impression on people she knows who have gone on to make the world a better place. We talk about all the wonderful places I have been able to travel to because of my book signings and seminars. It is an amazing experience – one I will never forget. I mean, who could forget being on Ellen’s show?

 

*A little over the top? Yeah, probably, but I won’t get anywhere unless I dream. I have big dreams.

Feel free to share your dreams in the comment section, or to start your own March Ahead journey on your blog. I am creating a tag #MarchAhead just for the fun of it.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
11 comments on “March Ahead: Step Two
  1. joey says:

    Ooh! Well in my big dreams, I have bought all the property on my block. (The family who once owned my house did at one time own all that land.) My side of the street would be a huge garden/small farm, with wooded trails, a greenhouse, and a dog rescue — and the other side would house people I love ❤

    And I hope that Ellen doesn't want to talk to me about it! lol

    So, how will you know if your blog is successful? What's the criteria?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Phil Ryan says:

    Just wondering, Manee. Did Ellen at any time say, “and after the break Phil Ryan will be showing us his F#m chord.’? Better up the practice, just in case 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, Phil, she didn’t. You see, tWitch was on vacation and she had already introduced you because you played the music as she danced to open the show. You played the music for all the game segments as well. Now everyone is eagerly anticipating your tour where they will hear the wonderful stories you sing. Have you seen the Ellen Show? I hope so, because it helps in picturing the scene.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Phil Ryan says:

        Oh you’re good. That motivational speaking will be a breeze 🙂 I haven’t seen the show and yet now, from your description, I feel like I’ve been on it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Sally says:

    If I was ever on the Ellen show, she’d be doing that thing when she looks at the camera in a can-you-believe-what-this-person-is-saying-I-don’t-even-know-how-to-respond-to-her way, and I would just be blabbering nonsense because that’s what I do when I’m nervous. And I’d be super nervous. Guess I’d better not be famous, huh?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joanne Sisco says:

    You write an awesome goal statement!! Let’s see how big I can dream too … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

