Is Suicide Painless?

Let’s be honest; everyone has thought about committing suicide at some time or another. If you are reading this, you haven’t. I am glad you didn’t.

I remember listening to the theme song from M*A*S*H when I was in high school. Of course on M*A*S*H the music was just that, music. The words were not sung. The words are haunting. I found a YouTube video of it with the lyrics written so you may really get a full understanding of it if you choose to listen. Here’s the link.

When I switched back to write this post, without closing the other site,  “The Sounds of Silence” started playing.  Yeah, that’s eerie.

Maybe suicide is followed by silence for the person who succeeds, but I can’t imagine it would be followed by silence in those left living.

My dear friend recently told me, “It would only spread [the] pain and multiply it, it wouldn’t end it.”

That is so true. I think about how many lives would be affected if anyone I know died. I can’t imagine putting my human or my offspring through that intentionally. There is no turning back. I hope that everyone has at least one person they cannot bear to hurt. I hope they feel love and reach out when they need it.

wp-1487110768359.jpg

Go ahead, light the fire

My poor flamingo was feeling a little sad. She couldn’t find any great adventures. Someone had placed her in the dump pile. She thought it would be alright to be in the fire pit.

I had to explain to her that everyone in her flamboyance would miss her. I had to explain to her that I love her and think she is just dandy. Hey, I may have just named her – Dandy is a fine name.

I had to tell her that every time I went to the fire pit and roasted marshmallows, I would not be able to eat a single one, not even if it was accompanied with chocolate and graham crackers. I wouldn’t want s’more. All I would think about is how much I missed my little Dandy and how I wish I could have done something to help her.

Dandy is just fine now, she is no longer in the fire pit. I have made sure she is not alone for now. I know she still needs support.

May everyone find the support they need. May peace be in the hearts of all.

Suicide is NOT painless.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Flamingo February, Uncategorized
4 comments on “Is Suicide Painless?
  1. Phil Ryan says:

    Oh wow, that’s brought me out of my Val day revelry 😉
    An important topic that often isn’t liked to be discussed but perhaps should be so the Dandy’s among us know of the help and support that is out there and so forth. Well done, Manee, a brave and valuable post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. annika says:

    This touched me. That is all I have to say.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

