In Honor of our Adoring Fans

It all started when I wrote A Hairy Interruption for the Stream of Conscious Saturday. Joanne made a comment that she thought I should name my flamingo. She gave some great suggestions that you can find in the comment section of that post.

Her suggestion was seconded by Phil. Now Phil has recently learned that a flock of flamingos is called a flamboyance, and in that light, he suggested Flambeyonce. It was a valid suggestion, but it just didn’t ring true to me or my flamingo.

So I started thinking about how fabulous my flamingo looked all dressed up and I started to think about music I liked and I came up with a name fairly easily.

Reba McEntire has a song called Fancy. I would link it, but (copyright and all and the fact that it wouldn’t even let me see the video), you can look up the lyrics if you desire.

Anyway, the song is about a mother who dresses up her daughter in the hopes of getting her out of the slums.

Now, I told my flamingo about the song, and I told her I thought she was quite fancy, and so the name stuck.

I also told my friends that an official naming ceremony was to follow. They are already calling Fancy by her name, but I did not want to disappoint them by not having the official ceremony.

A new friend, I will call her Purple, because I don’t really know her name, asked if Fancy had any pearls and maybe a tiara.

Well, she isn’t Fancy without a reason.

Ladies and Gentlemen, adoring fans of all ages, may I present Lady Fancy of These Fair Wood a.k.a. Flamingo Fields….. (provide your own drum-roll please)

She tried to wear a pair of earrings, but they kind of weighed her down.wp-1486477240408.jpgThe flamboyance outside will be named at a later date and time.

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Flamingo February, Uncategorized
5 comments on “In Honor of our Adoring Fans
  1. Dan Antion says:

    Good post – great name!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Phil Ryan says:

    I must confess I originally thought Flambeyonce was flawless….ha ha h….
    no I don’t understand it either… But am happy to bow to Lady Fancy.
    And thanks for the mention, Manee I don’t get many 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    Well … hello there, Lady Fancy! The pearls are just perfect 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

