Flamingos are the Greatest Cheerleaders

It is that time of year again when we get all our paperwork together and start procrastinating on filing our taxes. This  is the first year that I received a document from Amazon  Publishing and it was a little disappointing. My disappointment did not go unnoticed by my friend.

Flamingo: What’s wrong?

Me: I want to be an author and I just don’t think I am doing it right.

Flamingo: What do you mean?

Me: Well, I wrote my book and put it out to the world, but I don’t think it makes me an author.

Flamingo: How do you define author?

Me: Someone who is published and gets paid for selling their book.

Flamingo: So…. someone who writes a book?

wp-1486137091187.jpg

And gets paid….

wp-1485984150017.jpg

Um, Hello!

Me: Yeah, but it’s not very much. I mean, I know I will not likely be as successful as Stephen King, J.K. Rowling, or James Patterson, but I had hoped for more than $35.

My sweet flamingo gave me a hug and then started to wave her wings while jumping up and down.

Flamingo: We’re Here –   Let’s Cheer  –  A*U*T* – H*O*R  – AUTHOR – AUTHOR -AUTHOR

I don’t know about you, but I have seen a lot of cheerleaders and heard more cheers than I will ever remember. None were as lovely as my flamingo cheerleader and none were as inspiring.

Me: (trying to talk through my giggles) You are right. I am an author. Thanks for the encouragement.

Flamingo: Now, stop wasting time and get writing.wp-1486136928840.jpg

 

Ah, flamingos – ever so supportive and even more distracting!

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Flamingo February, Uncategorized
4 comments on “Flamingos are the Greatest Cheerleaders
  1. Phil Ryan says:

    Every famous author had to earn their first $35. At least you’ve made a start, Manee and with such cheer leading support your next 35 and the next etc will be on you before you know it 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sally says:

    I most definitely need a flamingo in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    You’re ahead of most people on 3 points – you have a published book, you receive royalties that will buy more than a cup of coffee, AND you have a cheerleader. Well done! Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

