Flamingo Set Sail

It didn’t take long before my flamingo found another source of water entertainment. She really wanted to go sailing.

 

wp-1485788444336.jpg

Me: That isn’t even a sail boat. It’s a dingy and you would need a motor and I don’t have one.

Flamingo: No, I don’t need a motor. I could just get the ducks in the river to push me. They have awesome webbed feet and I know they would help. They probably would like to see my killer back flip.

Me: You know something, I don’t think I have seen any ducks on the river for a while. I don’t think you will find any help in that adventure.

Flamingo: Oh, I’m sure there are some fish who will help.

Me: I think the fish are hibernating in the muck below the water.

Flamingo: I will find a way. You always say, “Where there’s a will, there’s a way.”

I had to nod in agreement. It is one of those string of words that often leave my mouth. I had to give it to her, she might just find a way to get the dingy to move. Really, the current would probably take her down the river, into the Chesapeake Bay, and out to the Atlantic Ocean.

Flamingo: Just think, I could travel to all my adoring fans, even the ones in the United Kingdom. If I play my cards right, I could hitch a ride on a tram to another waterway.

My flamingo was quiet for a long moment and I knew she was imagining how great it would be to see all our blogging friends in person. I did think for a brief moment that it would be fun to track her progress. Imagine my putting an address on her in the same way people do with balloons or messages in bottles.

It could be fun.

I had to give it to her.

Me: Well, it’s an idea. I think it is not quite a good idea, but it’s an idea. I’ll tell you what, you get the boat down to the river and I will let you go.

Flamingo: Yay! Here I go.

Three hours later…..

Flamingo: Help!wp-1485888041547.jpg

Me: I don’t think you will be able to get that down to the river. Oh, such a shame.

Please note I did assist her and she was safe and sound when I went back to the warmth of the fire.

Several hours later, the beast barked with such fervor that I felt compelled to check the yard even though I could tell there were no vehicles containing the dreaded and dangerous strangers.

As soon as I walked past the pool, I heard it.

Flamingo: (very muffled, and desperate) Help!

wp-1485888026383.jpg

I do think that life threatening predicament taught her a lesson. Still, she is a bit persistent.

Flamingo: Hey, look! This is smaller and I think it will float. I am going to try this instead.

wp-1485888014870.jpg

Me: You do realize that there is ice in that, don’t you? I don’t think you would like to stay inside something with ice in it.wp-1485887975890.jpg

Flamingo: You could take it out.

Me: Yes, but if you sail away in that, and make it to the bay, waves and rain will just fill the bucket up again and that will freeze and you won’t like that.

Flamingo: Take it out, please, please, please. Oh, pretty please with pink on top!

wp-1485887952933.jpg

Me: Now, lean up against this and think about what it will be like to be in the middle of some waterway with this around your feathers.

I walked away in the same way we do when giving foolish offspring something to think about. By the time I got back to the house, she was seeking the warmth and protection of any nearby flamingos.

I think she learned her lesson. At least until the summer!

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with:
Posted in Flamingo February
11 comments on “Flamingo Set Sail
  1. Dan Antion says:

    I don’t think you’ve heard the last from her. She seems determined.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Phil Ryan says:

    What a wonderful post, Manee. You’ve certainly got a plucky one on your hands. We were down by the River Tyne, (north east England) this morning, duck feeding. Looks like I may have to keep my eyes open for your flamingo next time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    I’m thinkin about how I live too far from the creek…
    And also, how icy…
    I’m slightly afraid for flamingo.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joanne Sisco says:

    I started out thinking ‘just because it’s a bad idea, doesn’t mean it won’t be a lot of fun’ … until I got to the bucket with a layer of ice. Oh yes, apparently sometimes a bad idea could result is a great deal of non-fun!

    I think Dan’s got the right idea though. You haven’t heard the last from her.

    … and has she told you her name yet?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

