Flamingo Lives Matter

I should have made Flamingo Lives Matter signs and had all the flamingos hold them while flocking around the yard in protest.

I can picture them with their feathers all ruffled shouting, “HEY HEY, HO HO, NOT ALL PLASTIC HAS TO GO! HEY HEY, HO HO, WE FLAMINGOS WILL NOT GO!

They would have been loud and they would have been proud. They would have been heard all the way across the county, possibly the entire east coast.

I should have helped them set up their worthy protest, but I didn’t.

I wasn’t even capable of taking a picture of the horrible destruction that I had witnessed. Unlike others who for some reason think to take a picture of their children in life threatening positions before actually saving them (picture child climbing over a barrier to the shark tank), I did not wield my camera phone. No, I sprung into action.

Well, actually I didn’t rush at first.

You see, there was this gallant effort made to clean the yard. The other humans decided to make a pile of all the crud that somehow ends up all over the place. Broken chairs, bottles that had fallen out of cars, and anything that just wasn’t considered worth saving was being placed in a large pile to be hauled away with the trash. I walked past the pile and was surprised to see most of the flamingos were among the other unwanted items.

I turned to the youngest and simply said, “Please make sure the flamingos don’t get thrown out with the trash.”

The response was terrifying.

The youngest actually said, “Mom, they’re trash. Most don’t have both their legs or they’re bent or rusted. They don’t all have their beaks. They’re trash.”

WHAT!?!

Oh I high tailed it across the yard to get a wagon. I loaded the precious pink pretties into the wagon and told them that they were beautiful, smart, wonderful beings  and I would never let any harm come to them just because they weren’t loved by the masses.

Then I brought them to the barn.

wp-1485788223831.jpg

They looked so dejected as though they were the most shameful creatures ever. Oh, my poor flamingo friends. You can see one looking up at me so pitifully with only a hint of hope as he sees me.

I tucked them all in the shed, and told them to sleep well for the duration of the winter. They are, after all, warm weather friends who have every right to hibernate in the cold months.

wp-1485788255102.jpg

They seem to be quite peaceful now.

Now that February has started, and my flamingos are going to be the stars of my blog, there are a few who have remained out of the barn. They seemed to have been considered non-trash during the great clean-up project, so my blog will go on.

I am going to have to keep an eye out in my yard. The gnomes and other critters seem a little nervous and shy.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Flamingo February, Uncategorized
7 comments on “Flamingo Lives Matter
  1. eschudel says:

    Save the flamingos!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    Mercy. I had no idea flamingos were so endangered, and by your own family, no less!

    Like

  3. Phil Ryan says:

    Oh wow, February really is about flamingo’s and not just one or two but a…. (Please prepare a fanfare….)
    a flamboyance of flamingos. Yes, I am rather clever knowing… how to google.
    A highly entertaining tale, Manee, looking forward to finding out how they fare 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. annika says:

    Oh no, poor flamingos!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joanne Sisco says:

    Thankfully, no flamingos were injured in the making of this blog post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

