Giving Thanks 

I don’t know why I felt exhausted by the end of my work day. It really wasn’t horrible, but I was worn out. Of course the day wasn’t over. I took an offspring to a follow-up doctor appointment, went to the pharmacy and got my meds (offspring medicine hadn’t been processed, but not needed until tomorrow so we left) went to another store because the beast likes to eat and he ate all his food, then went home to make dinner.  

I felt too overwhelmed and exhausted to write. But then I realized this day represents November. That month is all about being thankful. Boy could I think about reasons to be thankful. 

1. The alarm went off this morning and afternoon a restful night’s sleep,  I had no problem waking.

2. Having a job which is only existent when people want you to fill in for them, I was thankful for the opportunity to work today. 

3. I did not have to think twice about what to wear. I had my clothes set out, but, because of my new organizational skills, my clothes are all wear they belong and an outfit is easily found. I did not have to struggle to put them on. Oh, I  am so thankful I have lost weight.

4. I have a bookshelf, made by my father, in my bathroom. I recently organized my shoes there. This is definitely something to be thankful for. 

5. I was able to spend time with many friends and really felt welcomed and appreciated at work.

6. My offspring has only had one primary physician ever. I am so thankful that the doctor knows me and all my offspring. I feel as though we are getting the best care possible. 

7. We only use one pharmacy. I cannot begin to explain how much I love all the pharmacists and how they know my family and go out of the way to help us.

8. I am thankful for my family and my house and my friends. 

9. I am thankful I am safe and strong and loving.

10. Just because it has to be a round number, I am eternally thankful for light.


Yes, I am also thankful that I managed to write something today. I don’t yet have a job for tomorrow, but I am sure that all will be well either way. 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Posted in Uncategorized
9 comments on “Giving Thanks 
  1. joey says:

    Nice list!
    I’m totally jealous of your shoe organizer. One day I’m going to have one. The closet people will redo the closet in the front hall and it will be designed to our needs. One day.
    I had been seeing the same physician for 40 years when he retired. He knew my whole family. I miss him. I probably don’t have 40 years to get to know a new dr. but I did go younger (than me.)
    My November-Day was … I didn’t like it. It was NOT a good day. Still, like you, I can find a lot to be thankful for. Most especially, I am done with all the out of house things, I am comfy, I am full, I HAVE A VANILLA MILKSHAKE, and tomorrow is doors day 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, I was ready to comment on so much and then you said “VANILLA” which was a lesson yesterday. My friend was explaining the concept of *argument* in which she felt vanilla was the best ice cream flavor, but I think mint chocolate chip is the best. (Sherri gave me the cherry) The point was it doesn’t matter the flavor, you need to back up your opinion.
      Now for the shoe organizer, I showed my human the picture before sharing. I was proud, but he was indifferent. Still he supported me. Males!
      I remember interviewing this doctor when ours went to Arizona. I liked him, but it wasn’t until recently that I really have begun to appreciate him. My offspring seem to be able to explain exactly what needs to be addressed.
      This day was NOT excellent, but I am still thankful.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    What a wonderful list. Having to change medical providers is sad. Like Joey, I went for a younger person, but still, it’s going to take forever. As for organizing shoes…I’ll just let that go 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    A great reminder that there is always something to be grateful for even on the most challenging of days.
    In contrast, my November day was GREAT. With 2 thumbs up from my surgeon on the problem shoulder that’s kept me sidelined for the past 6+ months … yes, it was a wonderful day.
    If I could find the message for November, I think I would lean towards out of adversity finally comes joy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, that’s something to be thankful for if I ever heard of anything to be thankful for. Just think, with time your shoulder will be strong enough to split an entire forest for the fire to keep you warm in that cold land where you live.

      Like

  4. Anxious Mom says:

    I hope your past few workdays have been less tiresome!

    Like

  5. Thank you, E. I just found this in my spam file. My life has been non-stop stress the last few weeks which I think is interesting because January was supposed to be relaxing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

