January Awareness

When I was in college my Spanish class professor told us about a tradition in Mexico. The first twelve days of January are supposed to foretell the success or failures of the entire year. The first day represents January, the second represents February, and so on.

I loved this idea. It seemed so exciting to be able to predict how my year would go. I always thought the first day was the most important because it represented January and all the other days were in January. Therefore, it was necessary to have a good first day.

I don’t know if it is really an accurate way of predicting the year as I don’t remember ever looking back on what day 12 was like when I started a December. Still, it is something I often pay attention to in the beginning of the year.

This year I decided I would put a little twist on it and use it as a topic for my blog. Trust me, blogging has been the furthest thing from my mind over the last few months and I want to change that. I want to be motivated to develop virtual relationships through the blogging community. There is so much I may learn and so many ways I may inspire others.

Today I woke feeling very eager to start the year. I really feel excited about the new year in a way I don’t remember feeling before. 2017 is going to be a fantastic year with all kinds of wonderful experiences and successes. My sister gave me many Christmas presents surrounding the idea of attracting abundance and I am a very big believer in the idea that you get what you expect to get, so I am expecting all things wonderful.

The first thing I did this morning was clean the dishes. I don’t know why there were so many in the kitchen, but there were and it took me a long time to clean them. It turned out to be a good thing. It was quiet and I was content to simply clean and not think about anything else. It was slightly meditative.

As I cleaned without thinking I looked out the window at the river. The water was beautiful and mesmerizing. The birds and squirrels were very active as though they were telling me they were ready to get this year started. It even seemed as though the trees were waving a happy greeting to me as the wind tickled them with the  excitement of the new year.

I came to the understanding that January should be a month of Awareness. I desire to forget about the many journals filled with lists and expectations. Instead I hope to just live each day being aware of all the beauty around me. I hope to follow my own intuition and do what feels right in each moment without worrying about what I need to or should be doing.

I am not saying that I won’t do the things necessary for adult life, but instead of worrying about achieving the thrill of checking off everything on the to-do list, I am going to be happy in each moment doing what is necessary, like cleaning the dishes.

Happy New Year, may you be aware of all the beauty and love around you. May you have great success.

If you want, keep a daily journal for the first twelve days and see if it does portend your year. I would love to know how accurate it seems at the end of the year.

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Twelve Days of January
22 comments on “January Awareness
  1. Phil Ryan says:

    Interesting idea, Manee and may explain how the poor weather we get on the 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th of January in the north of England is replicated on most days in May, June, July and August. 😉
    A lovely message though and a happy new year and best wishes to you too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Solveig says:

    I really like this. Well today was a very much relaxed day. Where I payed attention to my eating habits (I have to) but did so more consciously. It was a day spend being confident regarding the year to come. Even though we took things quietly, it feels like a good day in which everything that needed to be done was done, and even more so (very reassuring as January looks like a very busy month for me…). I will join you in the adventure. And will try to put up a post regarding the 1st twelve days towards mid January 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    That is fantastic. I’ve never heard of that before and sadly, I can recount that last January 1, I woke up at 4am and cried and wrote poetry all morning. :/
    Today was a much better day. I woke up contented.
    I will be paying attention and I will let you know this time next year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Angie says:

    I love this idea! I’m going to implement this pronto. Thanks for sharing, and Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sally says:

    I love this idea, but — ugh — my year is not off to a great start. I suppose if I focus on the idea that trials come to make us stronger and if 2017 continues this way for the next 10 days, I’m going to be Superwoman by the end of 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anxious Mom says:

    That’s a neat idea. I guess most of January I’ll be slothlike and February I’ll be super productive. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Joanne Sisco says:

    Seeing as I’m reading this late and I’ve already burned away the first 4 months of the year, I’ll need to start paying attention to the next 8 days 😉
    My favourite part of this post was the line “you get what you expect to get, so I am expecting all things wonderful”. That pretty well sums up my beliefs too – and I’m expecting 2017 to be a kinder, gentler year for me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dace says:

    I like the concept especially because it somehow changes the way you look at “what’s next”. In this case, instead of focusing on stressing out about unknown future and potential failures or disasters, you focus on what good i can do today and what positive feelings I can create today.
    There is truth to what you do. The way you start your day, determines the way you spend the rest of the day. And who says that you can’t carry the same feeling throughout the year just by changing how you see things right here right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. […] I started this year tracking my days in an attempt to predict the year to come. You may read about my January post here. […]

    Like

  10. […] January 3rd was an accurate measure of how March would be. For more information about this, see my January Awareness […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

