Is Art in Any Form Still Art or Questionable?

While on vacation last summer, I was inspired to write a post about the Ocean Gallery in Ocean City, Maryland. Linda Hill had a prompt using the word art that made me excited, but because Internet was spotty at best, I never did finish the post.

I don’t know if the pictures really do the place justice. It is an amazing display of tacky awesomeness….

I know I had ideas of what to write, but I can’t remember any of them. I just know that artwork, and its beauty, is in the eye of the beholder. This place is spectacular for anyone who likes to cover their world with posters of all types. It is also a good source of inexpensive oil paintings for those with the money to buy them. I tend to lean towards the posters or nothing at all. Still, the place is a wonderful art museum if you are willing to be in a cramped, multi-level building with no air conditioning.

Smile! I love the place, but it can be a little claustrophobic – especially when trying to find the poster an offspring wants for Christmas in a massive cluster of exhibition.

No worry, the man in front was a great help and gave me (in exchange for money, of course) the display copy because the store was closing within a few weeks.

If you notice the sign for WJZ 13, you should know they have a camera on this building in case of hurricanes, riots (there was one this summer) and beach reports. This brings me to an interesting point. Another hotel has a camera for the channel 11 (NBC) news station. Neither hotel seems to actually have the capability of showing either station in their rooms. Yes,  I think that is ironic, Ms. Morissette.

See, it says it’s a “Fine Art Center” and nobody can deny anything as seen on a screen.

wp-image-1361455317jpg.jpg

The art isn’t confined to the interior or exterior of the building itself.

NO!

There is even a glamorous vehicle in the parking lot. I had a lot of fun taking pictures of one group of teenagers posing in front of this. As I took the pictures with their phones, and I don’t even have a memory of what they looked like yet alone the capability to track them down and get the pictures, you will have to use your imagination to picture the scene. It was fun, but then it might have been the drinks at the poolside lightening my mood. SHH, no comment.

wp-image-775727178jpg.jpg

Don’t get excited about eating at Jack’s Lobster Roll after your art experience. It hasn’t been open any time we went. It’s a shame, but Maryland is better known for crabs anyway.

Just in case you were wondering, yes, it is registered and is able to drive. At least I assume that is how it moved from one spot to another. But if you want to see the car in person, you will have to wait until next summer. It winters in the garage. wp-image-1861315086jpg.jpg

No, this might not be fine art to some of you, but I like it just fine. It is as important for a true Ocean City experience as  Nathan’s hot dogs, Tony’s Pizza, crab omelettes from the place I can’t name and gyros from the other place I can’t name…

Why can’t I name them? I don’t know that I have ever looked at the names, but I know how to get there!

So, is there anything you find fascinating that others would frown upon as not truly what it claims to be?

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
8 comments on “Is Art in Any Form Still Art or Questionable?
  1. joey says:

    I’ve seen that place before 🙂
    That’s fun stuff. If it elicits a reaction, an emotion, a response, then, for me, it is art.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Phil Ryan says:

    I’m a badly (self) taught guitarist and poor singer. This didn’t stop me from doing some open mic a few years ago. I found my art/act fascinating as large droves of audience stampeded for the exits, frowns on their gurning faces, hands over burning ears. I enjoyed it and isn’t that what counts…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    Art is so subjective, … but this seems to have a huge helping of entertainment attached to it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

