Don’t Know What to Write? Read

I often think about an author’s book on writing that really affected me. I am not going to mention the author’s name simply because I am going to be insulting and don’t want to be sued for slander. 🙂

When I first started to read books on writing by successful authors, I stumbled upon a book on tape. Great – I thought – I don’t have to read! There were some good suggestions and I did enjoy learning about the author’s process, but one thing really struck me as just plain wrong.

She said she doesn’t want to be accused of stealing ideas from other writers so she doesn’t read while writing. Because she is always in the process of writing a book, she never reads. NEVER READS! SERIOUSLY?!!!?

Well, I had read one of her books and I liked it, but after reading several I came to the conclusion that they were all the same and I could easily predict absolutely everything that would happen as I read. I guess it is safe to say the ideas were all her own and she only had so many ideas. Why does she only have so many ideas? She doesn’t expose herself to anything new. TRAGIC! But, she is quite successful and I would love to have some of her money.

Today I was looking for the Saturday Stream of Consciousness prompt from Linda Hill, but before I found it I read Joey’s blog and she asked questions at the end that inspired my post. See, if you read other blogs you will be inspired. I won’t be plagiarizing Joey, I will be writing my own answers. I am using her questions, but fully crediting her for them.

See, this is how good writers work. My being a good writer is debatable, but you get my point.

Anyway here are my answers to her questions.

What do you do when you wake up after a bad dream?

I have had a lot of really strange dreams lately. It probably has to do with the fact that school is back in session and I always have anxiety when my schedule changes. I am also spending a lot of time getting rid of things I have saved for ever. I have only saved them because I have trouble letting go. It makes sense that this anxiety is showing up in my dreams.

If I can, I usually roll over and go back to sleep. Sometimes my mind replays the dream in a much nicer way. Other times I forget the dream entirely.

When I wake up from a dream and can’t let it go, or there’s only ten minutes until the alarm goes off, I analyze the dream.

Is it realistic? If so, I work out what I can do to prevent the tragic event from happening.

If it’s unrealistic, I assure myself it isn’t going to happen and try to think of what might have caused it. I usually can pinpoint a movie or conversation I had that caused my dream.

I can’t think of any specific dreams right now, but I know I recently had a dream of a Little in some strange situation and I remembered seeing the Little the day before and a television show I watched as well as a conversation I had with my human. It all made complete sense to me and I knew there was nothing to worry about.

The truth is, our dreams are just our minds’ way of processing everything that is happening in our lives and sometimes they reflect totally irrelevant tidbits in our days.

Do you enjoy wearing hats? If so, what kind?

I have never been very comfortable having anything on my head. I would prefer to not wear hats.

The first time I remember really appreciating a hat was when I went to Mexico. Back then, I never wore hats or carried water because I didn’t like water either. The sun was so bright that I was getting heat stroke. My human put his hat on my head, gave me his bottle of water, and the world was all sunshine and happiness again.

Now I wear ball caps when I am at games or gardening because I don’t have prescription sunglasses and I can’t see without my glasses. I still don’t like having a hat on my head, but I much prefer them to sun glare.

What’s the most recent act of kindness you performed?

I was at a football game and the youngest took the child next to us to the concession stand for popcorn. They came back with popcorn for me and a pretzel for the child. I asked why they didn’t have popcorn for each and was told there had only been one bag left.

I ate a little of the popcorn, and then gave it to the child. It was not a totally heroic deed, but the child seemed quite pleased.

If you are looking for something to write, go ahead and answer the questions for yourself. I would love to read your answers. I guarantee they won’t be exactly the same as mine or anyone else’s.

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in blogging, Uncategorized
6 comments on “Don’t Know What to Write? Read
  1. Dan Antion says:

    Great advice. I have several draft blog posts that were inspired by Joey’s posts.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Yes, thank you for this post, it is very helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    I’m glad you (y’all) are so inspired, thanks 🙂
    I think reading is more important than writing. I can’t fathom the author’s logic, but I have a suspicion on who it is.
    Anyway, yes, for the love of puppies, READ!!! Always read. Jeez.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

