New New Jersey

I SEE THE BRIDGE!wp-image-1060406941jpg.jpg

It’s kind of difficult not to see it when you are where I was at the time. I guess I could have had my eyes closed, or I could have been playing with my phone. Actually I was playing with my phone in order to take the picture, but you know what I mean.

No doubt about it, that is the bridge.

Now, in order to understand this point you have to know a few things.

  1. When I was young I lived in that horrible well-known place called New Jersey. Northern New Jersey for those who will inevitably ask what exit and my answer is I have no idea. I was not allowed to drive when I was a young child.
  2. We had our home here in Maryland, but it was just a log cabin weekend type place.
  3. We kids had a game. First person to call out “I see the bridge” won the game. There weren’t any prizes other than bragging rights, and you were laughed at if you called out before it was possible to see the bridge.
  4. My siblings and I are known to text each other if we drive over the bridge (as a passenger obviously because we would never text and drive).

There were three of us in the car and two caught pictures as we all declared ourselves to have adequate eyesight.

I often joke that one could smell New Jersey before entering. From certain parts of my town it is possible to see clouds of dark steam rising up into the atmosphere. That darkness is coming from the factories in New Jersey.

Truth be told, our recent trip was in the summer and the windows were closed so I did not smell New Jersey, but I could see it. What I saw was very different than what I remembered.

Of course I am an adult and I have heard that southern New Jersey is not quite like northern New Jersey. I do know that it is called the Garden State for a reason. I just don’t remember seeing so many farms when I was a child.

I took pictures of the new New Jersey.

wp-image-539227415jpg.jpg

I love picturesque farms so much that I dream of living here. I just don’t want to do the work.

Most of the houses we saw were small and had plenty of land between them. It actually appeared to be a lovely place to live. No, I am not going to move there, but I will admit I can understand why some do.

 

wp-image-544712882jpg.jpg

I don’t know that I could live in the center of the United States because I have to be near the ocean, but this is how I picture the landscape.

 

wp-image-1266525774jpg.jpg

There are many places in Cecil County that look just like this, but this was in New Jersey.

I had no idea that there was anything nice in the place I left so many years ago. I have no idea how they changed a state, but I will tell you, I like the new NJ.

Yes, NJ might not be so bad, but I will still go to the ocean in Maryland. I hear I would have to pay to step foot on the sand in NJ.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
7 comments on “New New Jersey
  1. tomrains says:

    This was really interesting to read! I live in NYC, so of course I hear the “Jersey is horrible” jokes all the time. I’ve honestly never been to NJ (only driven through it a few times), so I have no opinion, but you sure make the new New Jersey look nice 🙂 I love reading about silly sibling traditions, too. Love those. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    I like that lil tale about your siblings 🙂

    I have been to NJ a handful of times, and it seems to be many places as you drive through. To me, that can be said about most states.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is definitely true about MD.

    Like

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I worked in Piscataway, NJ for a year. I think that permanently ended any chance I could ever like the state. I drove across the Outerbridge Crossing every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anxious Mom says:

    No, NJ doesn’t look so bad from the pictures. Love the tradition 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

