Only Good Vine is a Vinyard

Today’s post is inspired by Joey’s post on the summer heat and a question as to whether or not other people have vines growing up their porch.

Normally I try to rid my yard of all vines. I just don’t like those things because they cover everything so the precious flowers never see the light of day.

Vines have murdered trees all too often and those dead trees just might cause havoc if they fall on the house, car, flamingos, or little ones. Vines must go!

When we saw old houses with ivy covering the entire front wall, my mother would say that it was not a good thing. Vines on your house keep water in the wall and that grows mold. I have always tried to keep vines away from my home.

Yet, truth be told, I do have vines covering my porch. I just don’t call them vines. They are a vineyard. There were supposed to be red, green and concord grapes, but only the concord grapes have really flourished.

 

They really are a mess. They always have too many seeds for enjoyable eating, but they cook down well into jelly or juice.

They have even sent out little vines that I have shared with others which makes me happy.

Let’s keep this tag going – do you have vines growing on your porch?

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
11 comments on “Only Good Vine is a Vinyard
  1. joey says:

    Heh! Niiiice! Thanks for the shout out!
    I always have to unwind trumpet vine from my porch rails in the fall. So annoying, and you know I don’t get any trumpet jam. lol
    Last year my bird feeder was overtaken in July. Apparently birds can’t find the feeder when it’s covered in vines.
    Thanks for sharing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, trumpet vines are quite annoying. They do have pretty flowers.

      Liked by 1 person

      • joannesisco says:

        I’m starting to develop a hate for trumpet vines.

        Every summer I fight with my neighbour’s vine which tries to emigrate over the fence. I suspect it’s really an alien life form with the nefarious plan for world domination … and this summer I’m losing the war on this battlefront.

        The squirrels are starting to stare towards the house as if to chastise me for not maintaining their runway 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • This. This made me laugh so much. I don’t know what every vine in my yard is, but as Yoda would say, pull vines, I do. Then I always have to scrub afterwards because I am apparently, literally, allergic to vines. My worst is honeysuckle.

        Like

      • joannesisco says:

        I don’t know if I’m allergic, but I have to wear long sleeves and gloves or I itch like crazy afterwards.

        Liked by 1 person

      • If you ever forget long sleeves… wash with soap and water, then rub with rubbing alcohol. It has an authentic name, but I grew up with rubbing or drinking alcohol. If I do that, I don’t have problems. If I don’t, I have scars all over my arms and legs

        Like

      • joannesisco says:

        Thanks for the tip. Inevitably at some point I do forget. I appreciate anything that helps with the itchy welts.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    The only vines we have around here are Bittersweet and we attack them with a vengeance. Maybe someday, grapes. I keep thinking it would be good, but then it’s December and…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

