If We Remember

This is part of Linda Hill’s SocS. This week’s prompt is if/then. To participate or read other blog responses, check out her page.

If we remember those people we have lost, they will live on eternally.

I have lost both my parents, yet I don’t really feel I have lost them. I feel them with me most of the time and I hear them answer when I question them. Still, I can’t hug them. I can’t watch a movie and hear them laugh at any of the jokes. That just is the way it is.

I remember when my grandmother died. I was in high school and she had been in a nursing home. She was well into her 90s and had been ill for a long time so I was not upset by her death. That might sound strange to others, but it is reality. Her death was not devastating any more than the death of my parents.

Though I can still communicate with my ancestors, and really I have often talked to my grandparents I never met, I know that my descendants will not know them at all.

My children knew my parents. They have fond memories and we still joke about some of the inane things they have done and said. They will likely tell their children about their grandparents and hopefully they will do it in such a way that my grandchildren will feel they know their ancestors in the same way I know mine.

My human once told me that unless we are infamous we will not be remembered in the years after our death. Surely everyone remembers Hitler, but do they remember any average person who lived in the 1800s? Probably not. Still, I think it is possible to live on in memories… if we remember, then they will live on.

If we forget, then they will be lost.

We are incredibly fortunate to have such easy access to cameras and it is easy to put pictures on our computers, to write little stories about each person and to have it printed out in a book. I hope to start doing this.

I have a printer/scanner and it is my goal to start a family history for both my ancestors and my human’s ancestors. Though we don’t have the stories of our great grandparents X4 or 5, we do have our stories that we can and should archive for our descendants. It really isn’t difficult to at least list the names of the people in your family with a picture.

I had a cousin who was significantly older than me. She would often write me long, rambling letters that sometimes made no sense but always had family history in them. She mentioned information in her family Bible and I imagine it was filled with everyone’s birth, marriage, death etc.. She had told me that my birthday was the same as another significant date in the Bible.

When she died, her lawyer threw away the Bible thinking nobody would want it. What a terrible loss! It is a loss we can prevent from happening again. It is a loss I hope to avoid.

So I will soon start writing my family’s book to the best of my ability. I hope you all do the same with your family.

If we remember, then they will live forever in our hearts and in the hearts of our descendants.

 

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in SoCS, Uncategorized
3 comments on “If We Remember
  1. joey says:

    I am aware of this theory we share. When I am telling my children stories that seem lame now, stories of people and places that don’t seem to matter, I am acutely aware that I was told the same stories before the others left and that my kids will be telling them when I am gone. What doesn’t seem relevant now will be made relevant later. If we don’t do this, are we even a people?
    Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I remember my father and his mother, although both have been gone for many years. I still tell stories about them to my daughter, as if they happened last week. They are still here with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

