Ahi Seriously

I remember a long time ago, before our wedding, my human and his friends were quite the water-men. They came home from an excursion with rock fish and crabs. My friend and I tried to find a recipe for stuffed rock fish and we did come up with a fantastic meal. In the many years after that I have tried to duplicate the recipe and I have always failed.

I don’t cook fish. I should really say I haven’t often cooked fish. Why? Because I always thought fish was difficult to cook. I love to order salmon, and sometimes try the fish of the day, in a restaurant, but to cook it at home was unthinkable. I just always seemed to overcook it and I could never get the flavor right.

So today I decided to try Ahi Tuna because it was in my freezer and I am not going to give into the fear anymore.

wp-1464967502625.jpg

cut orange and ginger root

I had an orange and ginger and I made a marinade with it and a clove of garlic. I did not marinade it for long because I was hungry, but I don’t think it would have made a huge difference.

wp-1464967502738.jpg

I served it with half a sweet potato and romaine lettuce. Let me tell you, it was delicious – seriously delicious.

I have learned a lot about fish since the young water-men came home with their catch. I have learned not to cook it in the oven. Instead I cook it in a pan and only cook it for a minute or two on each side. I do not add the extra stuff such as clams, crab, or stuffing. I think it is best to have the fresh flavor of the fish to stand out above the seasoning.

A major plus – 28 grams of protein and only 120 calories before seasoning.

What is your favorite fish, and do you cook it yourself?

 

 

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Mock Lap Band Surgery
3 comments on “Ahi Seriously
  1. Anxious Mom says:

    I’ve never cooked fish beyond salmon patties, but that tuna looks seriously good. Have never tried that before (just the occasional tuna sandwich), but I’m going to put that on the list for this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

