AT THE EDGE OF THE ANGEL GARDEN

*WARNING – PHOTOS ARE GRAPHIC

They may be disturbing and I don’t know how to post them in a way that is hidden unless you click to view.

AT THE EDGE OF THE ANGEL GARDEN

We last met at the edge

Of the Angel Garden

I’d left my dwelling to enjoy

The peace of the

Of the Angel Garden

And you, you scurried away.

I laughed and said,

“Oh, you know I won’t hurt you,

You are completely safe,

For you are in

The Angel Garden

And as I sat quietly

Enjoying the serenity

Of the Angel Garden

You bravely crept before me

I watched as you nibbled the leaves

So enormous

I marveled at your hunger

I recall the first time I saw you

Trying without success

To devore my vegetable garden

bunny2

Bunny eating in the garden

I called you Hasenpfeffer

I called you Rabbit Stew

I vowed, that when the first frost came

I’d make a dinner of you

And now, three years later

You have become a beloved pet

A friend and companion in

The Angel Garden

Yesterday

Returning from a spiritual conference

My back in pain for some unknown reason

Unable to stand upright

I sought serenity in

The Angel Garden

I saw the still form

At the edge of

The Angel Garden

My mind told me it was

Something undesirable

Perhaps a raccoon

Then reality hit

And I knew

It was you

At the edge of the Angel Garden

Fear told me you’d been shot

Who would do such a thing?

Then I approached

And saw the wound

A slash across your side

The inner parts of your earthly form

Spewing from your side

20160502_074004.jpg

Rabbit with a gash on its side

I cried, my dear sweet

Hasenpfeffer, Rabbit Stew

Oh, how I mourned for you

Vowing to bury you after my chores

My back in pain still

I sat for a while

Alone in the Angel Garden

Then came the thump above my head

As something landed upon the roof

I trembled to see

Large wings spread

As the bird of prey

Flew through the branches of

The Angel Tree

Then lit upon the branch of

A maple or oak

Whatever that large tree be

“NOOOOO!” I screamed

My back still in pain

I hobbled across the yard

In search of the shovel

I’d left in a garden

Screaming all the way

“No, no, no, no, no”

I dug a hole next to your form

And all the time I prayed

My dear sweet Hasenpfeffer

My Rabbit Stew

I will allow none to eat you

Dear sweet friend

An angel for sure

Enjoy the garden

For evermore

May you find many friends

May you find many flowers

May you eat carrots and lettuces

For hours

May peace and love

Be always with you

I promise you will always remain

Unharmed

In my Angel Garden

As I lay you in the hole I’d dug

I placed the injured side down

So that which made you earthly form

May return to the earth

While the beautiful

Less scarred side

May return to the heavens

20160502_095352.jpg

I covered your body

And stomped on the ground

Telling you all the while

I was not harming you

I was protecting you

I placed a marker

To always remember

My friend,

My comrade

My Hasenpfeffer

My Rabbit Stew

May you remember me

As I remember you

And may you always

Bless

My Angel Garden

 

 

 

image

 

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in critters, Garden, Uncategorized
10 comments on “AT THE EDGE OF THE ANGEL GARDEN
  1. Solveig says:

    Oh many hugs Manee.
    I think you can select a featured image if you don’t want the others to show in the reader.
    Many hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    Aw, maaaaan, I enjoy a rabbit stew seemingly every ten years or so, but not rabbits I’ve loved. I’m so sorry for your loss. I’ve got a veritable squirrel graveyard out in the back 40, and most of them are a result of my dog. Nature does what she needs to, and we can only hope it’s with a wisdom we can’t fathom. Terribly sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Poor lil bunny 😢 I’m sure he’s happy in bunny heaven now. 🌼

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joannesisco says:

    Beautiful words to a sad story. Nature is pretty brutal 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Margaret says:

    What a great tribute to your wonderful rabbit. I believe you did the right thing to place him in the garden. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

