eX-tra eX-traodinary

*This is part of the A to Z challenge for April.

I spent last weekend thoroughly enjoying the beach. It was not warm enough to dive under the waves, but we did put our toes in the water. There were only a few people around us and we had our pick of the shells.

I don’t usually collect shells because I collected enough as a child to fill a large mayonnaise jar, and I don’t feel it necessary to add to the hoard. However, this trip was different. We found so many unique shells and rocks that we could not resist. We were drawn to the shells containing the small holes perfect for making into a necklace.

On one of our walks from the boardwalk to the water I saw a feather on the sand. Now, I know seeing a feather on the sand is not extra extraordinary, but I consider feathers a sign that the angels are with me or that a loved-one is saying hello. Therefore, seeing that feather made me think my mom, a true lover of the ocean, was telling me she was enjoying our vacation as well. I called out, “Hey, there’s a feather.”

Just a few minutes later my human said, “Hey, here’s a shell perfect for a feather.”

We both laughed. He had meant to say string, but I had just said feather, so that’s what came out of his mouth.

As I was playing footsies with the waves he suddenly called out to me. “I swear I didn’t do this. You have to see this.”

Now what you need to understand is I do believe him. I absolutely believe that this is a sign that someone in Heaven has a great sense of humor. I believe we had an eXtra eXtraordinary sign. What that sign was, well, what do you believe?

 

20160428_134622.jpg

Shell with a feather through it

20160428_134604.jpg

other side

20160428_134713.jpg

cool shells that I think look like ancient artifacts

20160428_134633.jpg

swordfish stingers?

20160428_134749.jpg

gnarly monster toe nails

We also found a skull, but we left it at the beach. There is a picture of it that may someday be shared.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in atozchallenge, Uncategorized
14 comments on “eX-tra eX-traodinary
  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    Human skull??

    Like

  2. joannesisco says:

    I don’t find anything cool on the beach … except smelly things like seaweed. I like your foraging better … well, except for maybe the skull.
    … and I wouldn’t have a clue what those long stinger things are. I definitely don’t find those on the beach! On the other hand, considering I live on a fresh water lake, that could explain everything 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    Fascinating. I’m not good at sea life things. I say that, but I realize I know more than many people, but like, I want to know as much as my mother does. That woman seems to know everything.
    Cute feather-wearin shell 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Angie says:

    Cool finds.
    I’ve found some pretty shells on the beaches of Fiji. They’re the only ones I’ve collected.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    Okay, this is what my mother wrote:

    You mean the shells? Scallop with the feather. Assorted broken ark, mussel & limpet shells. Toe nails are called slipper or boat shells. Sting ray no but possibly the tail of a deceased Horseshoe crab. You are both welcome. Loved the blog too. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

