Timing is Everything

 

*This is part of the A to Z challenge for April.

Timing is everything. If you get to the farmer’s market at the beginning of the weekend you get the best quality of produce. If you get to the farmer’s market at the end of the weekend, you can get the best deal because the farmer does not want to bring it home.

That sounds reasonable doesn’t it?

Now, consider the idea that everything happens at exactly the right time. Consider everything that happens in your lifetime was already scheduled to occur at that exact time. Do you think that is logical, or does it take away your free choice?

I remember a Bible verse that children were encouraged to learn. If I remember correctly it said, all my days on Earth were written before the day I was born. Yep, another one of those things I could not completely understand. It bothered me because I felt that meant I had no control over my life.

I have heard another theory regarding this notion. It says that before we are born, we sign a contract that lays out exactly what we intend to do in this lifetime. We agree to the length of time we have to do this, so maybe all the days were written before we were born.

What do you think?

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
7 comments on “Timing is Everything
  1. joey says:

    I think you may be right — a contract, a spiritual lease, if you will. This paradox between written pages and free will is something I always found troubling.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I hope to understand it some day.

    Like

  3. I think it is deep and perhaps something to explore. All I know is I definitely don’t run the show.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joannesisco says:

    That’s a very complicated question and one I’m sure we could discuss for hours.

    I believe in free will. We choose our actions. However I also believe there are reactions to our actions … like the Universe is sending us messages. That’s how I choose to think of the gut instincts and hunches I get or the wonderful coincidences that come my way.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Michael says:

    I to wrote about time in my Plants, Produce & Ponderings, maybe not as thought provoking as you intriguing question.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

