Serving Others/ Serving Self

 

*This is part of the A to Z challenge for April.

Service, by my own personal definition, is helping others in any way.

It does not have to be doing some spectacular feat of strength, intelligence and/or perseverance. You don’t have to come up with a cure for anything. You don’t have to raise money for anything. You don’t even have to commit to helping a local school, food pantry or any other noble institution.

Service is helping others when a need arises. If someone drops something and you pick it up for them, that is service. If you hold open a door for someone, that is service.  When you carry something for someone else, that is service. Yes, these are very basic things, but you can make them more complicated for yourself. The idea is to help other people and thus, serve others.

When you help other people you are rewarded, not by them giving you heaps of money (though I’m sure none of us would turn down heaps of money), but by the good feeling you get. You influence others by your kindness. You inspire others to be kind. You change the world.

Do you believe?

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Posted in atozchallenge, Uncategorized
7 comments on “Serving Others/ Serving Self
  1. joey says:

    I do believe. And act accordingly. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I do believe in doing good, by helping and lending a hand to others!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Angie says:

    Agreed. This goes back to the whole karma thing as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. susanbruck says:

    Your post is very well said! I do agree–acts of kindness little or big are important. And I know how happy it makes me when someone does something kind for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

