Oh, Say Can You See?

 

*This is part of the A to Z challenge for April.

Oh, say can you see, by the dawn’s early light, what so proudly we hailed at the twilight’s last gleaming?

Obviously this is going to be about the National Anthem for the United States, but, in the interest of not losing any followers from other countries, I think readers could easily substitute their own flag and country.

When I was trying to think of something for O, all I kept thinking was the big OH, say can you see…

It got me thinking about how much I love this song. Can you see that our flag still waves in the sky after two hundred years? Do we look at it in the same way Frances Scott Key stared in relief and pride when he saw it after a battle in the War of 1812. Are we amazed that our flag still waves because our country is still here?

When you see the flag, do you think about how wonderful your country is and what you can do to keep it that way, or do you think you would be willing to leave without ever looking back? Is your country just a place you live, or is it a home you would be willing to do anything to protect?

I once drove past a Veterans Cemetery and mentioned to my child that those who died for our freedom were buried there. My friend said she did not believe that was true. I asked her why. I could not imagine not believing that.

She said, “They died because people killed them. They did not keep us free. We are free because we are.”

It was an interesting point of view, but I tend to think the soldiers fought with the intention of protecting us, therefore they died to keep us free. Still, she made me think about it, which is a good thing. We should all think about what we believe and be able to justify it.

I can’t finish this post without addressing my interest in baseball. I love to go to Baltimore and to stand with my hand over my heart as the National Anthem plays in the stadium. I love when the crowd shouts “OH” so loudly I think all of Baltimore can hear it. *they do this because we are the O’s*

OH, say does that star spangled banner yet wave,

o’er the land of the free and the home of the brave?

So, this is my “what do you believe?” question. Is the flag something that makes you proud, and do those who serve our country in the military, government, police, firefighters, etc. bravely do it to protect our freedom and security, or do they just do it because it’s a job?

Are we still  the land of the free and the home of the brave?

 

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in atozchallenge, Uncategorized
8 comments on “Oh, Say Can You See?
  1. Lori Carlson says:

    This is an interesting and thought-provoking post. I don’t like to discuss politics or get into it about the path I see our country taking. I will just suffice to say that I do still get that tinge of pride when I hear our National Anthem sung and leave it at that.
    Many Blessings,
    Lori

    My A2Zs @ As the Fates Would Have It & Promptly Written
    Follow Me (Ravyne) Twitter|Facebook

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    Great post!
    I’m flummoxed by the juxtaposition of patriotism and pacifism that dwell inside of me. As usual, I don’t want to go too far into it here, but I feel great pride and reverence for Old Glory.
    I think we’re free because we’re big and not only are our armed forces large, but a great many of our citizens are armed as well.
    We are a war machine. No matter how you look at it, no matter how you feel about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great question! Many of my relatives served in the armed forces, including my son and son-in-law who are now in the navy. I think people join the military for many reasons. Some do feel the need to help defend the USA, others go in because it’s expected of them (they may come from a long line of service members), some want the benefits (college), and some don’t have a choice because the judge says they either enlist in the military or they go to jail (I know someone’s son that happened to). I do believe we are still the land of the free and home of the brave.

    Cheryl
    Plucking Of My Heartstrings

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I would choose it over jail. I know it sounds like a horrible choice, but for some (I obviously have no idea about the one you know) the discipline of the military can be a positive thing. I know I could not have joined, I could not physically make it through boot camp for one thing. I am more of a day dreamer, but I sure appreciate those who do.

      Like

Leave a Reply

