Miracles

*This is part of the A to Z challenge for April.

What is a miracle?

When thinking about what a miracle really is, I was reminded of a job interview I had once. The interviewer asked, “What is your greatest accomplishment,” and then she sort of slumped and added in a non-pleasant way, “and don’t say having a baby.”

I was thrown off a little, but still quick thinking, so I responded, “graduating from college.” I got the job.

Having a baby might not be a great accomplishment to everyone, but for those who have trouble conceiving or carrying a baby full term and delivering a healthy, living child, it is not only an accomplishment, it is a miracle.

When we learned about ancient miracles, they were always things like thousands of people eating with only a fish and a loaf of bread. A bush was on fire, yet didn’t burn. A sea parted just long enough for the people to flee, and then the waters returned to drown the enemy. A flood killed everyone except those who were safely in an arc.

All those things seem miraculous, yet we, being skeptic humans, tend to let go of our faith and seek to explain the events logically and scientifically. We consider ourselves superior to our ancestors because we know so much more. We tend to let go of faith and rely on our science and ourselves.

Is this why we no longer see miracles, or do we see miracles and feel embarrassed to admit it because it is not considered social norm?

I love to watch the shows that scientifically explain the ancient miracles. For instance, every history tells of a great flood, but they probably did not happen at the same time, and their whole world was not the whole world.

These shows fascinate me, but I am often left wondering why we feel it necessary to explain away all the miracles. If someone is told he or she will be paralyzed for the rest of his or her lives and then they walk, is it not a miracle? Just because you could find scientific reasons for their walking and attribute it to physical therapy and determination doesn’t mean it wasn’t a miracle.

What do you think is a miracle? Have you ever experienced one?

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in atozchallenge, Uncategorized
13 comments on “Miracles
  1. Solveig says:

    Every day, since being a mom, I find myself amazed by the miracle of life. Not just human life but life in general. It is magic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I always find it interesting that we will say “it’s a miracle of invention” or “it’s a miracle of modern medicine/science/technology” but then downplay the existence of “miracles.”

    One of our cats was not expected to survive. She was a very sick kitten when we received her. My wife did everything possible, and the kitten is now 10 years old. The vet will attribute that all to the effort my wife made (and still makes) to accommodate this cat’s needs. I also consider it to be a miracle. Take your pick, cat, effort, luck. I can go back to the point that I met my wife and think that that, too was a miracle, so there’s been a miracle at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    Miracles happen all the time, and I don’t care to explain most of them away.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joannesisco says:

    I think magic and miracles are all around us – it’s all a matter of perspective. We’re living it right now – spring 🙂
    The magic of nature to rejuvenate itself at the end of winter is a marvel that wows me every year!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I, too, love shows that explain certain miracles, or at least attempt to. I think we’ve become too insensitive to life’s miracles — the goodness of people, for example. I experience the miracle of waking up every morning.
    Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I believe in God as a first cause for everything – something out of nothing. If he can do that he can also do a lot of other things we won’t be able to explain. Yet he knows we will try to explain him away and loves us anyway. That is a miracle.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

