Live

*This is part of the A to Z challenge for April.

One of my favorite movies is Secondhand Lions.

It is about two old men slowly revealing how they really got their money and the wonderfully crazy ways in which they spent it. It is a great portrayal of what some people will do in order to get money from other people.

I just adore this movie on so many levels, but there is one part that I think about the most often. It is really inspiring to me and makes me think about life.

At risk of this being a spoiler, I will say spoiler alert. I don’t think it is a spoiler, but be warned.

The movie ends with one man saying, “They really lived” and the other man repeating the same words. But it wasn’t just mimicking.

The first man said, “They really lived,” emphasizing the reality as though favored story book characters suddenly walked out of the pages.

The second man said, “They really lived”, emphasizing both reality and living. The words were the same, but he is saying, ‘they lived a meaningful life full of everything life should be full of.’

 

This simple six word dialogue between the men is one that inspired a part of my book series.

Is it better to live a long, peaceful and quiet mundane life, or is it better to really live for a short period of time? Do you have to choose between the two?

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Posted in Uncategorized
9 comments on “Live
  1. Eli Pacheco says:

    My goal has been to live a long and fruitful life. My fear is that I’ll live a long and unfruitful life. To that end, if the universe puts me in a spot to give up my life to save many, I’d rather go out that way, nobly. Does that make sense?

    Great food for thought, if you ask me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joannesisco says:

    It is a compelling question and one I hope I never really have to answer because in reality, I think most of us would say we would prefer to *really live* for a long time 🙂

    Very early in our marriage, my husband and I agreed that we would live for the *now* without being overly irresponsible about our future needs. All too often I saw people who had postponed travelling until they retired, or postponed doing things until their children were on their own. Unfortunately it would never happen. One of them would get sick, suddenly die, and then all the plans were dust.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Plan like you’ll be here forever, but live like you know tomorrow is your last day. I’ve heard that a lot but forget to think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

