Karma – Friend or Foe

*This is part of the A to Z challenge for April.

Karma is often called a bitch, but is it?

Karma is (at least in my definition) the reflection of who you are. It does not have to be based on this life, it could be from past lives (if you believe in reincarnation).

We have all heard the phrase, “Do onto others as you’d have done to you,” as well as, “You reap what you sew.” These pretty much portray Karma.

There are people in this world who do great things. There are people in this world who do evil things. According to the concept of karma, these people should be receiving wonderful reward or terrible vengeance depending on to which group they belong.

But karma is sometimes slow. We might see people who we think deserve swift justice and they seem to live a charmed life even though they do harm others. Is it enough for us to sit back and say karma will get them someday?

When we live our lives trying to be nice to everyone, to be good people, and yet we have struggles, it can seem as if karma is ignoring us.

My life mentor (better phrase for life coach) told me that we can release the bad karma. Imagine, if you will, that you lived a life before and you maybe did not live up to the high standards that you do now. Imagine you are carrying around bad karma because of some unconscious guilt for what you had done that has nothing to do with who you are now or how you treat others. You can release that karmic energy.

This is what I understood my life mentor to tell me. Simply say the following…

I release, from this life and any past life, the karmic energy that is holding me back. I release any tie to (state problem such as money, relationships, success…) and am opening myself up to good karma.

I think that is how to say it. I am willing to be corrected.

What do you believe, is karma real? Is it a friend or a foe?

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in atozchallenge, Uncategorized
10 comments on “Karma – Friend or Foe
  1. joey says:

    Mmm, I tend to believe. Or at least, ascribe karma to situations that seem ironic. Like the time I blasted my friend for how slow she peels potatoes, only to take the peeler from her and slice off my fingernail. Instant karma speeds vary, but I do believe 😉
    As for the afterlife bit, I’m pretty sure some of us are coasting and some of us are earning extra credit, or are at least on a faster track. But you know, that’s not a popular opinion.
    The universe is mysterious and stuff.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I do believe in Karma and in the age-old expression “what goes around comes around” as well as the examples you gave. I have seen examples of what Joey calls “instant karma” and sometimes, it’s pretty fumy. I think that might be where poor karma got hit with the “bitch” stick. As for the afterlife, well, I believe that there is one, and I believe that it’s based on this life.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Angie says:

    Yes, I believe in karma. I think it can sometimes be slow, and sometimes fast.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ellie Mack says:

    Great article! I think that it is a matter of perspective. If you are on the receiving end of karma after you’ve done something bad, or wishing for someone else to receive their comeuppance for doing you wrong – then you would refer to karma as a B. Otherwise, I think the what comes around goes around also agrees with the you reap what you sow. Sometimes it seems that karma is slow to manifest. Other times it is swift.
    Most of the time is seems just, but sometimes it is really good to see someone that has wronged you get a good dose of what they have dished out.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Thank you for stopping by my blog. I believe in karma but wish it would catch up with certain people in my lifetime.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. joannesisco says:

    Put me on the believer list. I think both Joey and Dan said it well for me 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

