Hatred

This is part of the atozchallenge.

Hate is a very strong word. It is also a very overused word.

Children say, “I hate you,” to their parents when they are given restrictions. We know they don’t really hate their parents. It’s the easiest way for them to express their frustration.

What are they really saying? I don’t understand the rules. I want to be in charge of my own life.

Children say, “I hate (insert name of teacher, coach, classmate)” because they are overwhelmed with an assignment, peer pressure, or because they lack the ability to handle a particular situation.

What are they really saying? I don’t understand the assignment, the relationship, I lake the basic skills.

Children say “I hate” a particular subject, sport, or activity because they lack the basic skills and are afraid of failing.

What are they really saying? I want to be the best at this activity and I am afraid I am failing. I don’t feel good enough.

Children say they hate another person because that person is different, mean, behaves in an inappropriate manner.

What are they really saying? I don’t understand why this person does what they do, and I don’t know how to handle it.

Saying, “I hate -” gives us an immediate release of our frustrations, yet it actually hurts us. It allows a darkness into our soul that can be as devastating as cancer if we allow it to grow and harden us.

What should we do? Think about why we feel the way we do towards someone or something. Is there something we can do to make it better?

Try to understand why we are feeling the hatred.

Work on accepting the rules, and follow them.

Study basic skills, practice, ask for help.

Try to look at the situation from the point of view of the other person.

Learn to walk away and let go of challenges that are overwhelming.

Let go of hatred and allow for hope and healing.

What do you hate? How can you heal?

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with:
Posted in atozchallenge, Uncategorized
8 comments on “Hatred
  1. Dan Antion says:

    I try not to stay with something long enough to hate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alice Gerard says:

    I hate mustard, mayonnaise, ketchup, hot sauce, American cheese, iceberg lettuce, and all things unpalatable to me. Ugh to bad food!!!! :>( I can heal by not having to smell or taste food that is yucccccky!!!
    On the other hand, I don’t hate people, even people who eat yucky food. I don’t have the attention span to hate people!!!
    (http;//alicesgrandadventures.blogspot.com)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    I allow my children to say hate about things, but not about people. This is an ongoing battle here and there, “Do you actually wish them dead?” No, they don’t. They never wish people dead. But homework and throat swabs seem okay with being hated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to admit, when it came to what kids said, I always ignored the word and tried to understand why they were saying it. Most of the time I ignored it because I remember saying it. I would hope Moo and siblings would not wish others dead!

      Like

  4. Nilanjana Bose says:

    Hate is a strong, smelly word. Takes up too much energy as well. I don’t like using it my conversations. Dislike is as far as I am prepared to go. I am lazy like that.

    Here from the A-Z, and best of luck with the rest of the challenge
    Nilanjana.
    Ninja Minion, A-Z 2016
    Madly-in-Verse

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

