Creative/Crazy Clothing

I love to be creative in every aspect of my life, whether it’s through art, gardening, writing, cooking, or just day dreaming. I also would love to be creative when it comes to what clothing I wear.

A long time ago, I would make my own clothes, and my mother would make me clothes as well. This allowed me to wear things that other people did not own and reflected my own personality. I stopped wearing creative clothes and started to only wear jeans/shorts and sweatshirts/t-shirts when I became a mother and out of shape. That’s really a shame, but it was comfortable.

I bought myself a sewing machine last fall in the hopes that I would start sewing again. Um, I have not used it much, but I have hopes. I decided on Easter that I would make a commitment to walk for at least 40 minutes a day in the hopes that I would be able to get healthier. Maybe it will also inspire me to be creative with that sewing machine. We will see.

I was going to post about creativity alone, but then I had a memory flash this morning. I remembered going to visit someone one summer at a campground where members of a church all owned their own campers and spent their summers there in fellowship and all. I had never been to a campground like that and I loved the idea that everyone knew each other and would feel safe letting their children roam freely, knowing they were among friends.

I remember I was wearing long (just above my knees) plaid shorts and probably a nice shirt to go with them. I remember I was fairly skinny at the time and I felt I looked good. The person we had gone to meet made an odd comment. She said my shorts were inappropriate for the campground. I was not going to be kicked out, but they were too short.

Even now, I can feel my face twisting into the are you crazy? expression that I must have had back then.

“They’re down to my knees!” I said defensively.

“Yes, but your knees should be covered.”

I could not understand this. There was nothing wrong with my knees.

While my children were in elementary school, it seemed none of the boys would dare to wear shorts that did not cover their knees. I couldn’t understand this, as most of the boys when I was a child did not cover their knees. I  doubt the boys covered their knees for the same reason the girls did at that church camp.

While remembering that experience, I really started to think about the reasons people put judgement on others for what they wear.

If I wore shorts that revealed my knees, would I be causing stress to all the males because they would be having uncontrollable urges? Was I being sinful because I did not want to be hot?

Did the boys in the elementary school cover their knees because they did not like their knees, or because everyone else was covering their knees?

If we all wear exactly what everyone else tells us to wear because we want to get along, not offend anyone, and mostly not attract unwanted attention, do we limit our own creativity.

In a writing course I took recently, the instructor encouraged us to be more creative in every way possible because it would help us as writers. I think there is more to that. Being creative makes people more interesting. It helps them discover who they are. It helps them release stress. It gives them peace, joy, and serenity (which is probably the same as peace, but I like the word).

So, questions to ponder….

  1. Are boys really so vulnerable to the charms of a girl’s knee that they can’t control their urges?
  2. Does clothing really define a person?
  3. What is your favorite way to express your creativity?
  4. What do you do that does not have any creativity?

Go out and create a beautiful world, even if it is only beautiful to you!

*This is part of the A to Z challenge for April.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in atozchallenge, Uncategorized
14 comments on “Creative/Crazy Clothing
  1. joey says:

    I find this interesting on many accounts. One, my ‘best’ friend’s family is fundamentalist Christian, and growing up, as a tagalong, I was held to such standards as skirts and culottes and even hose, for the sake of modesty, even when it was hotter than Hades. Her grandfather did belong to a Holiness Camp, so I recall THAT WEEK real well. I’ve even blogged about it. (http://jolenemottern.com/2013/05/16/united-holiness-camp/)

    The other aspect being taste in clothes. I enjoy comfort. I like plain things. I have been dressing like a school marm since I can recall. I like solids, cotton, long sleeves — classic, traditional, conservative clothing is my friend. I look boring. I look vanilla pudding. But I am not, and it sorta gives people the wrong impression I think. I should perhaps look like a gypsy, or maybe have brightly colored hair and piercings or tattoos or something that alerts people to my personality…but my taste runs to boring. Jeans, long sleeve tees, canvas shoes.

    I have yet to admire a woman’s knees. I have yet to admire a man’s knees. I have been known to blow raspberries on fat, dimply, baby knees, so I don’t think I’m qualified to comment on the alluring aspects of anyone’s leg joints. Knees are good things to have and I don’t think they’re any sexier than elbows, but then, at Holiness Camp, elbows were allowed, either…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Solveig says:

    I do recall that when I lived in the US shirts and shorts had to be of a minim length in school, but no need to cover the knees, and tank tops had to be so wide that they weren’t tank tops any more… I always felt that American woman (my view as a teenager) didn’t dress well, especially when wearing shorts, everything was designed to cover much of the legs and to be as wide and unsexy as possible.
    I don’t think that woman’s knees have too much of an effect on men, just on those who have a knee fetish…
    Get that sewing machine on and create yourself your true outfit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That rule about the length of shorts seems to be a thing of the past. The girls in our local schools seem to be back to wearing short shorts.
      I will start sewing again, not today – but soon. I might even share what I make.
      Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. […] friend, Joey, commented on my Creative/Crazy Clothing post, that she had written a post that was on the same subject. I immediately went to read […]

    Like

  4. Anxious Mom says:

    This reminds me of a blog post (not on WP, but something I saw linked on Facebook) I read last week where the mom talked about teaching her 4-year-old modesty by not allowing her to wear tank tops, as they would be too revealing. It was to the point that the little girl was quietly pointing out a woman at the mall for revealing the assets God have given her.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. SD Gates says:

    Interesting post!!!! My clothes lack total creativity as most of them are clothes my boys don’t wear anymore. I am too cheap and too lazy to go clothes shopping. I keep thinking I will start sewing again, and make clothes that I like, but I barely have time to get the laundry done these days!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

