B is for Belief

So many of us have well established beliefs we don’t even think about other than to say, “This is what I believe.” Most of us don’t even know why we believe what we do. I don’t think we are really born with our beliefs; we are taught them.

For example, imagine several infants born into the world. They all came from the same place. It doesn’t matter if you believe it is the womb, Heaven, or any infinite number of places. Babies all pretty much come in the world in the same way.

Now, each of these children is living in entirely different locations from each other, spread all across the planet. They have different parents, different cultures, and eat different foods. Everything about each life is different from the others. Do you think each child will believe the same things?

Remember, they came from the same place. Assuming they came from Heaven, wouldn’t they all start their lives knowing what Heaven was like? Why would they all have different beliefs about who is (or isn’t) the almighty power in the Universe? Why would they each consider certain foods acceptable for eating while others are not?

I can only imagine that it is something they have been taught. It’s based on the beliefs of the parents, community, culture, and maybe a little bit of intuition.

Now, my challenge is for people to question their beliefs. I am NOT saying you should not believe what you believe. I just think it is healthy to understand what you believe because it makes you who you are. When you have a firm understanding of what you hold true, you are able to communicate with others and share ideas.

Maybe, just maybe, the world would be more peaceful  if everyone just communicated calmly and kept an open mind about the beliefs of others. Maybe –

20160330_095946.jpg

Last summer I went to a little  store in Ocean City, Maryland. I really liked this Believe sign, but I wanted it in a smaller size. I asked the sales lady if she had one in a smaller size. She found a sign that said, “As for me and my family we believe.”

Um,  no thank you. That’s not quite the same thing. I want a sign that just says believe because I don’t care what you believe, I just think you should believe something.

I can’t say, “As for me and my family we believe,” because I none of us believe the same things. I don’t tell the younger humans what to believe. I tell them what I believe and why I believe it. My human does the same. We don’t believe the same things. It is up to the younger humans to decide what holds true to their own hearts.

So, what do you believe without a doubt? What do you find difficult to believe?

I absolutely believe the Trinity, the angels, and the afterlife exist. I believe my parents are still with me.

I find it difficult to believe that dancing is a sin, but I won’t make  anyone else dance.

I also find it difficult to believe that sin will send me to Hell, but I try to live by the Ten Commandments. It’s just that coveting thing that I find difficult.

 

 

*This is part of the A to Z challenge for April.

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in atozchallenge, Uncategorized
7 comments on “B is for Belief
  1. interesting post, and questions you bring up.
    Ha a similar discussion in a World Religions class I took in college.

    Belief systems are so interesting and diverse! It’s beautiful.
    Keep up the good work.

    Jazminn
    Under Jazminn Skyes

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I used to love to discuss beliefs in college, but I never took a class on it.

      Like

    • I can’t comment on your blog, it would not accept my user name, so here’s what I would have written…Yes, many people feel that way. You have traveled and know there is more out there, but leaving home is difficult. Where I live there was only one stop light 30 years ago. Now there is so much traffic that I often have to sit through the lights changing more than once before I cross the road. More people means more cultural opportunities, but a great deal of loss as well. I say stay, and travel.

      Like

  2. joey says:

    I could type about what I believe for days, I’m sure, but I’m not going to 🙂 I, too, think it’s important to believe in something.
    As for me and my house, we serve ourselves! LOL 😛 I actually have a post about that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anxious Mom says:

    Sometimes I kinda envy people who just believe but never examine or understand why. I always land in the gray area rather than being firm on anything.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

