A is for Atlas

A is for Atlas – a mythological god who had to hold up the world on his shoulders. Wow, that would give me a headache. At the very least, it would be a pain in the neck.

An atlas is also a map of the planet Earth.

Now that makes me wonder; what if we were able to find an atlas (map) of another dimension? Would it look the same as our Earth, or would it be entirely different?

I imagine that the “worlds” in each dimension are completely different, and yet, there must be at least one or two exactly the same just identical twins are the same. If it happens in humans, why wouldn’t it happen in dimensions?

I don’t think there are enough hours in any of our lives to fully explore all the regions of our world. How many lives would we have to live in order to be able to explore all the dimensions – all the universes? Would we even want to explore them, or would we be fearful of what we’d encounter?

I love to look at other blogs containing pictures of places people have traveled. I love to read about the lives of people in other states and countries. It’s as if I’ve somehow shared the experience though I don’t have the time, or money to travel the world.

I wonder if there are other dimensions in the Universe, dimensions so close that only a thin veil separates us. Can some people see and hear through the veil? Is that how some of us are able to hear the voices of our deceased loved ones, while others actually see them?

Maybe “insane” people who have conversations with nonexistent entities are really having conversations with those in another dimension. Could it be possible that in another dimension people are considered crazy for talking to us?

A is for Atlas, a guide for exploration… Where would you like to explore? Would you only explore the planet Earth, or a space that only exists within your mind? Would you explore another dimension if you received its atlas?

 

*This is part of the A to Z challenge for April.

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in atozchallenge, Uncategorized
22 comments on “A is for Atlas
  1. Megan Morgan says:

    I do believe other parallel universe exist, things that we can’t see on the surface but are definitely there. It would be awesome to find a way to explore them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this. One of my favorite things to think about is the possibility of other worlds existing in other dimensions. I think it’s quite possible. I am betting, as humans, we’ve barely scratched the surface. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    This makes me think of one of my favorite Twilight Zone episodes, “Little Girl Lost” She was lost in anther dimension. I wouldn’t care to explore that one. Ironically, the family’s dog was able to rescue her because, “dogs are better at dealing with these things” I like that idea. If I do explore, I’ll take our pup with me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s the one where she fell through the wall behind her bed, right? I loved Twilight Zone, but I sure don’t want that experience. I don’t know if the pup is a good idea or not. I would like the protection, but when they get their hackles up for the wind and bark at everything, it might bring more attention to me than I want.

      Like

      • Dan Antion says:

        Hit send to fast. You can delete that if you like. I’m not an engineer, but I started college (Chemistry major) before scientific calculators were a thing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Dan, I don’t know what your comment means. Was this meant for someone else? I am impressed that you went to college for chemistry, I barely made it through biology.

        Like

  4. Catherine says:

    I love the idea of another dimension. And I like believing other dimensions exist. If I were to choose, I would get an Atlas of the afterlife. I’m pretty sure it’s pretty complicated over there, and crowded!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    This is my first read this morning, and it’s a real winner, considering I’ve barely left my own subconscious. Surely there’s more we don’t understand or know than what we do. We don’t even know the depths of our oceans and we’re still discovering new species. These are the kind of topics I like to chat about long into the night.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. randommusings29 says:

    Very thought provoking! I love the idea of parallel universes and I would love to explore some if I had a way to do so
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lgkeltner says:

    This is a great post! I’d love to find an atlas to another dimension!

    I’m here as one of Stormy’s Sidekicks.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Liz A. says:

    Now, that’s a thought. Atlases of other dimensions. I once posited that those that hear voices were hearing the voices of ghosts, but I really like this other dimensional idea…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Anxious Mom says:

    I love the idea of multiple dimensions! I like to think of an Earth where people are getting things right as a society.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

