Ssoc – Food

I haven’t been keeping up with my blogging as well as I had intended. I have gone a few months without participating in the Saturday Stream of Conscious and I have missed it. Today I will begin participating again. It’s a good prompt for me – FOOD!

I recently purchased a whole pig which was a new experience for me. I have never been a huge fan of ham or pork chops, so when I talked to the butcher I asked for the pork chops to be made into sausage. He refused to do this because he said the pork chop portion of the pig was the highest quality and would be wasted in sausage.

Not being one to argue, I pretty much let the butcher do his job the way he saw fit. When my friend (the one who provided the pig to the butcher) brought me my meat I told her I was not a big fan of ham or pork chops. She asked me, “WHY did you buy a pig?”

Well, this reminds me of the first question I asked her when she said I could order puddings and scrapple for a few cents extra per pound. I had to Google puddings because I had no idea what they were and I quickly decided, yeah – no thank you. But my question to my friend was – can I get sausage and bacon?

She responded, well who gets a pig without sausage and bacon? She hadn’t mentioned it because she had thought it was obvious.

My answer to her question of WHY I ordered the pig – I love sausage and bacon! And it is usually so expensive unless it is entirely fat or fillers. I love the bacon I received from this pig. It is by far the best I have ever had.

The first thing I cooked was a ham steak with potatoes and bacon. The ham was not like any I’d had before. It was not as salty and it had such a pleasant texture. I think I have been missing out on the whole ham experience until now. The difference is getting it straight from the farm (well, the butcher was the middle man).

The other night I made pork chops. I thought these pork chops needed a little love and care, after all the pig had been loved. My human and I both felt the same way about pork chops. We’d both grown up eating dry meat cooked by our moms until they had no risk of being deadly. He said he had once eaten it in a restaurant and it was juicy and good, but he’d never had it at home where he liked it.

I opened a cook book and found a recipe that called for beer and caraway seeds. Just so happens they were both in my kitchen. I made the pork chops and did cook them a little too long, but the gravy was fantastic and I greatly enjoyed the meal.

I think I might become a fan of ham and pork chops. I might even learn to not overcook the chops. I have plenty of meat remaining to expand my repertoire of culinary delights.

In a few weeks I am going to get a delivery of beef. I’m only getting half a steer, the same as last year.

If only I had an endless supply of home grown fruits and vegetables. Then I would be able to become an expert on all types of foods.

Too bad the river is not an adequate source of seafood. I would love to try home made sushi which I am thinking about because Linda Hill mentioned it in her post.

This is part of Linda Hill’s Ssoc. To participate, or just to read other people’s thoughts on food, visit here.

What food have you tried to cook that was difficult to master?

 

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Posted in Uncategorized
8 comments on “Ssoc – Food
  1. joey says:

    Ugh. I miss having a deep freeze! I’d love to go in on a pig or a side of beef. I don’t love meat, but I’d love to get those prices on ethical meat.
    You know what meat I do love? Sausage. Truly. Of all the meat I consume, I’m certain sausage is the top. I eat bacon in BLTs in the summer, but otherwise, meh.
    I generally bread and fry chops because my family loooooves those, but a few weeks ago, I was very lazy after cutting up nine gazillion heads of cabbage, and decided to slow cook some chops in Cream of Mushroom soup and they were a big, big hit. These girls, who turned their noses up at the idea ate them all. There were none left for The Mister’s lunch, not a scrap. I will definitely do that again one lazy night 😉
    The other way I do them is all day in the Dutch oven, with apples, onions and potatoes. Good for a pork loin as well.
    That ham you speak of can sometimes be found at grocers labeled as “Country Ham.” It’s pricier, but the texture is sublime, yes? I eat ham rarely.

    In response to your question — Biscuits. When I was a kid, I made biscuits all the time. Flour, lard, milk. They were beautiful and perfect. If you don’t keep doing it, you can forget how simple it was 30 years ago. I’m still working on getting those biscuits from my childhood perfected. I’m close. Every time I make them, they take me closer to childhood. Recipes for biscuits are stupid. Lard is hard to come by. I’ve been better off experimenting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dalecooper57 says:

    I used to regularly buy a half a jointed lamb from a local organic farmer and it was easily the best lamb I’ve tasted. And it was so much cheaper, lamb is ridiculously expensive if you buy it from the supermarket.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anxious Mom says:

    Mmm bacon.

    I googled pork pudding, too. Ewwww.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

