Sisters

I went to see Sisters this week. There were only four of us in the theater and that might have been a good thing. I laugh loudly, and if there had been more people in the dark room, someone might have complained.

I shared my popcorn and soda with a teenager. Said teenager concluded that, while the movie was funny, it was not laugh until you cry funny. Everybody is a critic, especially teenagers.

It’s funny how teenagers are quick to point out the flaws of those who pay for their tickets, popcorn and soda.

I told said teenager that teenagers don’t know everything – after all, there were clearly streaks on my face from all the tears that I cried, so OBVIOUSLY it was laugh until you cry funny.

I went to book club last night and a friend said she had seen Sisters as well (came up because there was popcorn at the discussion) and she laughed a lot too. So there teenager!

Do you ever feel old? Oh how old I feel. But there was something really freeing about laughing because some idiot gets totally stoned and paints a penis on the wall using his penis as a paintbrush… OK, maybe that was inappropriate, but for some reason it really made me laugh.

Maybe it was just because I love Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, I mean, they are just such a great team of funny. Maybe it was because we all know someone who just totally screws up their life, and yet we still love them, or we’re the screwed up ones.

There were some serious points in this movie that made me sigh and think, oh yeah, I get that emotion. I want to say what they were, but I don’t want to spoil anything. Let’s just say,  every character seemed to have a human flaw, and some pretty kick ass character traits.

So, if you are not a teenager and you can imagine yourself sitting around moaning about how old you are and thinking that’s a great Friday night, go see Sisters and have a high time at least in your imagination.

Bring a tissue in case you laugh as much as I did.

If you don’t like the movie, at least be happy nothing happened to your home while you were at the movies. I mean, I think the odds are good that you won’t go home to a sink hole, a laundry room full of foam, a hole in the ceiling and a penis on the wall.

If you do, maybe you would have had more fun at home than at the movies!

One final note, I will never look at a music box the same way again!

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Sisters
  1. Anxious Mom says:

    That reminds me that I need to go see this movie before it leaves the theaters. Amy Poehler is my spirit person. And Tina Fey. Basically, I love them. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

