Shots Fired That’s All There Is

Heads up – I am being fairly sarcastic in this. If you don’t understand sarcasm, don’t read.

I was just reading commentary how all the news in Europe focused on the closing of everything in Brussels because of the threat of terrorism. It was interesting to read about it from the perspective of someone living in Europe. I had wondered about what my life would be like if Maryland just decided to close everything down because of a threat.

I can’t imagine, it would be so strange.

I have also spent a lot of time thinking about how disappointing it would be to have finally saved up enough money for that dream vacation, only to be told I had to stay in my room and wonder if I would ever be able to make it home again. Makes me want to spend my money on other things, hey how much wine can I buy for the price of a dream vacation in Paris?

Did you know that someone shot people in a Planned Parenthood in Colorado this weekend? If you did not, I suspect you were spending your time visiting with friends or perhaps shopping. You must not have looked to any media and guess what – unless you live in Colorado or have family there, your life was most likely not changed by it.

For over four hours, the major news networks talked about nothing other than the shooting in Colorado.

Now, don’t get me wrong. It was a shame and I feel sorry for the families of everyone involved. Still, this is a huge planet with so much happening. I am sure that last Friday, they could have found something else to report about other than protests in Chicago and a shooting in Colorado.

I live in Maryland, my local news channel only talked about Chicago and Colorado. I did not realize they were local in Maryland.

I have made a decision. Tomorrow starts December and I know all those wonderful Hallmark Channel movies are going to have non-stop merriment with predictable happy endings.

Sorry CNN and Fox and my dear local news, I will live my life in my fairy-fantasy land, at least for December.

I might switch my wine for some hot chocolate and peppermint schnapps. Who knows, I might try all kinds of new drinks. I can afford any liquor I want now that I am saving so much by not going on that dream vacation.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Shots Fired That’s All There Is
  1. SD Gates says:

    I stopped watching the news altogether. We discontinued cable, so no news – now its just Netflix and Hulu. So much nicer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

