To Roast Two Poor Red Peppers is Too Much

I am ashamed of myself. I just ate some hummus that was called, “Roasted Red Pepper.”

It made me think.

image

Why is it only the red peppers get roasted? Have you ever seen anything made with roasted green peppers, yellow peppers, orange peppers?

No, I bet you have not. At least I have not seen anything other than the poor red peppers being roasted.

image

I think it is abhorrent to only torture the red peppers.

It is not only peppers that are segregated by their red colors.

Think of sun dried tomatoes. I have only ever seen red sun dried tomatoes. There are other tomatoes in this world! I have grown yellow and orange tomatoes and I have never seen them in  the sun dried form. Only red tomatoes get left out and neglected only to wither away in the sun.

I do admit, the green tomatoes tend to be fried – they must be even more hated than the red variety. I don’t know what to do about this blatant discrimination in the world. The torture and abuse based purely on the color or the fruit’s skin.

I am shuddering just thinking about the fact that I ate the poor red pepper that had been brutally tortured.

 

image

I don’t think this picture really shows the truth, but if you were looking at it in person, you would know I only switched to the red pepper hummus because the cilantro jalapeno hummus was perilously close to extinction.

The truth is, I like the flavor of that better. It is green, I am not torturing red peppers any further by eating it.

image

I don’t think they roasted the jalapenos.

I know they roasted the garlic, and you might say I should not be so angry about the obvious mistreatment of the red peppers, but I still am angry.

You see, garlic is a pretty sturdy root. It stands up well to the heat. It is used to being buried in the ground. It also does not (at least to my knowledge) come in a variety of colors. Therefore, all garlic is susceptible to roasting and not just the red ones. In fact, I don’t think there is such a thing as red garlic.

Now, let’s not forget the apples. I cannot prove this, but I suspect the apples used for apple sauce are all red. Imagine, they are not only roasted, left to dry in the sun, and turned into juice, they are subjected to having their skin torn off and their entire being cored.

Oh, the injustice!

Where is the Fruit Civil Liberties Union? They should be fighting the good fight against the discrimination, torture, and general mistreatment of the reds in the world.

I have not seen any websites devoted to the Fruit Civil Liberties Union. There are no #protecttheredfruit, #FruitCivilLibertiesUnion, #SavetheReds, on Twitter.

There are no opportunities for Facebook users to change their profile picture to have a red hue over their pictures.

It is a disgrace! I will not stand for it! I might have to go into my fruit and vegetable drawer and take out every color other than the reds. Take that purple eggplant that is usually roasted anyway.

Hm, purple eggplants and garlic are roasted.

Let me think about this.

I might be a little confused.

Maybe I should investigate this further.

I do have a thought about the word roast. You know, now that I think about it, I have seen some really funny roasts on television.

I saw a roast of Justin Bieber that was quite funny. I think I saw other celebrities roasted. People who are famous for singing, acting, playing sports and even politicians are roasted on a regular basis.

Do we only roast those whom we carry in high esteem.

Oh, maybe the reds are roasted for their beauty, strength, endurance, and tenacity.

Hm, well it is too much to think about, it might take me two hours to consider.

 

This was brought to you by the world’s greatest bean – the chick pea.

It was also part of Linda Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday. Today’s prompt was to use the words to, too, and two.

To participate or read other interpretations of the prompt, please visit her site here.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in SoCS, Stream of Consciousness Saturday
15 comments on “To Roast Two Poor Red Peppers is Too Much
  1. I am sorry red peppers but I am not switching to Jalapeno hummus. Just the name gives me heartburn. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Josh Wrenn says:

    I have a dream that my children (which I don’t have) will grow up in a world where peppers are judged not by their color, but by the content of their flavor character.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Dan Antion says:

    My wife roasts all kinds of peppers when she has them in her garden – no pepper is safe. Nice post, except for the chick pea mention. I can’t stand those little guys.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jetgirlcos says:

    In New Mexico we roast green chiles almost exclusively. There is a huge business centered around roasted green chiles. There are green chile roasters in front of almost every grocery store in the fall and on many street corners as well. Red chiles tend to be dried and strung into ristras instead of being roasted. As for me, I roast just about every vegetable and I think it is a fantastic thing to do to just about all of them. Please don’t report me to the #FruitCivilLibertiesUnion. At least I treat them all equally 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Try roasting green or yellow peppers and making hummus from them, go ahead, try. When you’re done gagging and wiping out the inside of your mouth with a paper towel, get back to us.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Haha, this was brilliant! As far as hummus, I think it all depends on the brand. I’ve had some really terrible hummus, roasted red pepper or not. But I do love the Jalapeno one. Thanks for sharing such a delightful post for SoCS. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

