That Moment When You Realize You Belong in the Water

I have always loved the ocean, at least since I first remember actually walking into the ocean. I was a teenager and I had recently been transported to the area I call the tropics.

The ocean is powerful and mighty and standing in the waves along the shore is like challenging something great and dangerous.

“I am not afraid of you!” I want to shout in the same way the guy from Forrest Gump screamed, “You call this a storm?”

Funny thing is that there was a time in my life when I was in the ocean and the undercurrent somehow got the best of me. Try as I might have (and OH how hard I tried) I could not swim to shore. I was in another country where there was a lifeguard. A woman on the beach ran to the lifeguard saying, “Do you see that woman drowning? Go save that woman!”

Want to know what that lifeguard said to the woman?

“Yes, I see her. I also see the man going to save her.” He did not move from his lifeguard podium. What a wonderful job he had. How well he did it!

Anyway, a man did save me. He screamed at me, “SWIM!” as he held his hand out to me.

My response?

“I AM SWIMMING!”

I don’t think I had ever been so afraid in my life. I remember sitting on the beach with a towel to my face because I did not have a paper bag and  all I wanted to do was control my breathing. My breathing was something I was very glad to be able to focus on.

I learned something that day. I learned that if I ever get caught in a rip tide again I should swim parallel to the shore until I am out of it. I also learned that many beaches actually have ropes in the water that one can hold onto and pull themselves to shore. Interesting that I spent much of my teenage years in the tropics and had never learned that.

I also learned that one should not go into the ocean during hurricane season, but let’s not judge. Come on, I was on a vacation where the main attraction was the ocean. It was beautiful, it was enticing.

Did I go back into the ocean during that vacation? You betcha!

Okay, again with the judgement? Seriously, I have always been told that if you fall off the bicycle or the horse, you get back on. I simply love the ocean and I had to get back in, I just made sure not to let the water go above my knees. See, I was careful.

Obviously I survived unless I am really just a spirit and I can somehow manipulate electronics. You wouldn’t believe me if I said that was true, would you? Okay, you can pretend that I am and let your mind wander with that thought

Anyway, I love the water. It does not have to be the ocean either. Any time I am in the water I feel inspired. I once did a seminar where I found my spirit animal. I had two spirit animals and apparently I was not the only one.

My first spirit animal was a dolphin. I was sitting on the beach watching it arc over the waves and dip out of sight. Over and over, back and forth, right in front of me the dolphin played. I remained sitting on the sand all the time thinking how much I’d like to swim with that dolphin.

That was when I met my second second spirit animal. It was a golden retriever who came along the shore and sat by me. I thought that was really cool when we both watched the dolphin.

Now the thing that got me thinking about how essential water is for me was what happened in the shower today. As I was getting clean I heard (thought) a complete scene for the next book I am writing. The entire scene played out and I thought, “Wow, that makes sense. Wow, that means ‘this’ is going to happen and it will effect ‘that’ and oh, my how incredibly awesome.”

I got a tingling feeling like my hair raising on my arms and the water had not turned cold.

It was an awesome feeling that when in the water I am able to just relax and let the ideas flow over me as the water does.

I know this is a strangely personal post when talking about showering but it is my blog so be it! Have you ever had such an experience in the water?

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
14 comments on “That Moment When You Realize You Belong in the Water
  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    I am also very fond of the ocean and water in general. I just wish that I was allowed to go into the ocean right now. Hopefully I grow enough cells to change that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SD Gates says:

    Hi Manee,
    I am so excited you are having revelations in the shower. It’s funny how the book in progress seeps into your subconscious and when you are doing the most mundane things you have revelations. That is so cool.
    I love the ocean too. I have to be near water – maybe because I am an Aquarius or maybe because I just like water.
    I once was snorkeling and got chased out to sea by a Barracuda. I must have stumbled into his territory and he circled around me forcing me to swim about a mile out to sea, where the ocean floor is so deep you can’t see anything, but know that something is lurking in the murkiness. I was petrified. Luckily, I swam in college, so the mile swim back to shore was doable, but nonetheless frightening (because I was sure the Barracuda was going to come back and circle me again).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My mother talked a lot about the power of water in dreams. She told me that water meant change, whether intended or not. I dreamt of floods before some very powerful events in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anxious Mom says:

    I love the ocean, too! We go to the beach every summer, and it’s lovely to sit there by the water. I’m more hesitant about getting in now that I’m older and have all the fears of getting eaten by a shark or something, but still love being near the water.

    And what an awful experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful (the muse, esp). Hope the walk for Alzhmr’s went well. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. joey says:

    I do.
    I love water. Even I love the bathtub. I get all the best ideas in the tub, but even when I don’t, it’s a nice place to pray, or sort my thoughts, or have a good cry.
    My spirit animal seems to be a small finch-like bird with a rosy breast. *shrugs* I guess he doesn’t do bathrooms, only living rooms 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

