Things to Muse About

Thinking is sometimes a problem for me. I much prefer dreaming to thinking. I have always been like this. At least I think I have. I don’t really remember the first few years of my life, and I suspect there was a lot of thinking going on in those years.

I probably thought a lot about the emptiness in my body that I wanted filled and I probably learned quickly that crying would bring someone to give me something to fill that emptiness. I am sure I spent a lot of time thinking about my belly button. Come on, I was a baby, I thought about a lot of things as silly to us adults as a belly button.

My mother told a story about trying to enroll one of my sibling into a preschool. The director of the school informed my mother that her students did not sit around and contemplate their belly buttons. It was such a strange comment that my mother remembered, and talked about it, years later…. as in when I was attending college. Yes, it was a vivid memory for her. We did not attend that school. This is how I can be sure I probably thought a lot about my belly button.

I love dreaming. I do it while I sleep on a regular basis. Last night I had some really strange dreams that I don’t remember now, but I remember thinking that it was strange to be dreaming about some dangerous trip I was unlikely to ever take.

Dreams while sleeping are meaningful. I am working out all the meanings for them in my process of writing a book about someone who dreams. Some of my thoughts are

  1. they reflect what you experienced in the day/hours before going to sleep
  2. they reflect your greatest fears, i.e. a huge spider lands on your bed covering your entire body. I don’t dream this because I am not afraid of spiders. My fear dreams are so frightening that I won’t share lest you find yourself dreaming about said fear.
  3. they are a message from someone – angels, deceased loved ones, etc.
  4. they are your subconscious mind’s answer to a problem you have been worrying about.

I am sure there are other reasons for nightly dreams, I am still working on this.

Still, I really like dreaming throughout the day. I spend hours dreaming about what life would be like if I were one of those lucky people who had more money than I could spend. What would I do?

I might go traveling, sailing, skiing, flying, snorkeling, dancing, singing (karaoke) white water rafting, yachting (I would LOVE to have the money to go on the yacht from Below Deck), swimming, or fishing and crabbing. I might enjoy reading, writing, crafting, gardening, painting, sitting, and most definitely eating and drinking. The most exciting would be book touring!

Yes, these are the things I spend much time dreaming about. I guess in order to have these dreams come true, I must do more thinking. I really must do more working. Working, well at least my work involves a lot of dreaming, and creating and generally making up stories.

Some day I may have the money to go on that yacht. Someday. But I will probably not spend the money on it. There are too many hungry mouths I’d want to feed, too many homeless families I’d want to shelter, too many scared children I’d want to protect. But  still, I at least have my wonderful ability to keep dreaming about it.

May your world be beautiful, may you keep dreaming.

This is part of Linda Hill’s stream of consciousness challenge. Today’s challenge was for the first word to have ing, and a bonus if the last word does. To go to her challenge, follow the link below.

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS Oct 10/15

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
12 comments on “Things to Muse About
  1. I think dreaming is great…I believe it is our sub conscious mind trying to tell us or speak to us about things we want to do or achieve or things that somehow we are not able to focus on. I dream a lot too, usually day dreaming…however, there are strange dreams that I experience when I am asleep but I tend to forget them. Dreaming other says is part of creative process…May your dreams come true. By the way, I would also love to gave a yacht but if I have money to buy it I won’t as I rather give it to those who are in need…I guess we just go sing via karaoke then…:) Love your post and very good take on the challenge. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. JoAnna says:

    That was fun to read. It’s fun to imagine our dreams coming true. I’d like snorkeling, and having an art studio, and book tours with lots of sales. AND a movie contract! AND a farm! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I prefer dreaming to thinking. Great job on the prompt. Bonus points for you !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LindaGHill says:

    Nice post. 🙂 I spent a few months once when I didn’t dream at all. It was exhausting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would think not dreaming meant you slept! Oh wait, I guess you are saying you spent a month thinking and working. That would be exhausting! I hope you recovered from that horrible experience.

      Like

      • LindaGHill says:

        No, I was sleeping… but it’s amazing how much my body and mind seemed to need to dream. It was almost as though I needed to think that much more when I was awake. Weird, eh?

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Not weird at all. Dreaming helps us solve problems when we are not working on that thinking thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

