What the Font

image

Do you see the bunny under the chair? S/He is there, I promise. S/He is much larger now than he was when this pictures was taken. I have moved the chair. The bunny still goes to the same spot and s/he is still happy to visit that spot to eat his/her fill.

Now if I were to write a story about this scene I might write it from the point of the bunny, the chair, or the plants. Wow, I bet the plants are terrified of the bunny!

I could even write the story from the point of each of these. I know a plant and a chair is not what you would think of as a character in the story. Though a plant is alive and a chair made out of wood was once alive, they are not considered to be capable of thought.

Still, I could write a story from the point of view of each the bunny, the chair, and the plant. Call it creative license. Call it fantasy. Call it Manee Trautz being Manee again. I could write this story from all three points of view and I could switch back and forth from one point of view to the other.

Now, how will you know which character is the main focus? Well I could start each section/chapter with the character’s name. I could write the first sentence in such a way that the character is mentioned, i.e. the bunny was shaking…. but in truth I think it might be possible to switch characters simply by switching fonts.

I could do this. I have seen this in other books. For example, I believe Legend, written by Marie Lu, had a different font for Day then it had for June (seriously cool names for the main characters). In the book that followed one character was written in a different color than the other.

I read this series a long time ago so I don’t remember exactly what the colors were, but I think they were likely to be significant.

Anyway…. I am in the process of getting my book ready for publication.

I have many main points of view, so to speak, in my book. There is a narrator, there are dreams, and there is the central story line. There are also fairy tales and letters.

I was thinking it would be good to have a different font for the narrator, the story, the dreams and the letters. The only question is, which font?

I learned that Times New font and Arial are good, but I don’t know which others to use and for which. Does that make sense?

So, my  question is… which font do you prefer and do you even care?

Have you found a change in font to be helpful or distracting in other books you have read?

Please share your thoughts with me.

thanks

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in My Book
17 comments on “What the Font
  1. Dan Antion says:

    I like any font that is easy to read and doesn’t call attention to itself. I don’t want to be distracted by the visual sense of the letters (unless I’m reading poetry and that was a planned element), I just want to let the words enter my head.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. don’t know why it posted in the middle of my writing!
    I thought I really wanted to set the dream scenes apart from what is real so the reader would have a visual clue that it was really a dream.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. joey says:

    Times New Roman is preferable to me.
    I wonder what the bunny prefers ^_^

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I don’t know much about writing and its rules but I can say you should write whatever you think and like, someone may appreciate and like them. May your writing journey be a success (I believe it will 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

  5. JoAnna says:

    I agree with Dan. It makes sense to change font for dream scenes which could be in italics if they are not too long. But otherwise, I wouldn’t change it too often. Best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joanne Corey says:

    I have read that when submitting to publishers, it is best to use something that has serifs, like Times New Roman. Other than using italics, I would try to keep in the same font if submitting to publishers and discussing the possibility of different fonts with the publisher as part of the editing process.

    Like

Leave a Reply

