Rooting for Strong Roots

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS Sept 19/15

Today’s prompt: root or route

Rooting for Strong Roots – okay that is definitely not one of my better titles. I think I might spend the next week just musing over titles and then I will be better at thinking up just the right one for a post. Anyway, it’s Saturday and I am back to attempting the stream of consciousness prompt from Linda Hill.

 

I try to imagine myself with roots going from my feet far into the ground.  I have a tendency to be a little flighty. Those who are closest to me seem to have a running joke that I can be on topic and focused and really getting things completed and then out of the corner of my eye I see something glitter and then it’s as if I say, “Oooh, shiny! Ooo pretty.” and then I am lost to the world on another mission far from whatever it was I was trying to complete.

Yes, I am flighty. I learned from using Angel cards that it is tempting to float up towards the heavens and leave this world even if it is just symbolically. I have learned that I need to plant my roots into the ground so I can remember that I am human and have human needs. Let’s root, root, root that they stay firmly planted.

Now, that root is not the same as route. The route that I take is ever changing. Some days it seems as if I am going towards one goal only to realize it is not quite as straight and narrow as I would like. The route sometimes is tumultuous and sometimes even  has major roadblocks that force me to turn around and reconsider my directions. Sometimes it is only because I see shiny things… oooo… pretty!

Anyway, yesterday I hit some major traffic in the symbolic road or route to my future.

I had signed up for the intermediate course in WordPress and started the first class and said, oooh, not shiny, not shiny at all. In fact it was quite overwhelming. You see, I don’t want to spend the money on WordPress and then have to figure out what hosting program or company or server or – well obviously I don’t know much about the technology involved in all this. I don’t think that is where I am ready to go now.

I know I want to be able to use different fonts and I want to make it a very interactive site, but for right now the content is the key. It does not matter how much money I invest or how much time I spend taking classes. If I don’t write good content nobody is going to want to visit my site (or is it sight? I think I like site better) if all I have is shiny things it will be very distracting, so I need to focus.

I am imagining that the content, the words written to portray actual thought provoking ideas, and the dialogue between myself and the visitors to my site is the foundation of what I want this to achieve. I want my virtual self to be able to grow and blossom and flourish and in that way provide strength to others and shade from the harsh realities of the world. That is what I want.

If I want my symbolic tree to be strong and tall and mighty, I must water it and tend to it. I must allow it to spread its roots deep into the ground. So, I will not be continuing with that intermediate course at this time. Instead I will be tending my roots… I will be mapping out the best route to my future. I will be root, root, rooting for not only my own success but the peace and happiness and amazing success of all my readers.

Cheers!

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Stream of Consciousness Saturday
5 comments on “Rooting for Strong Roots
  1. joey says:

    It’s site 🙂
    I think you’re well on your way.I enjoy reading you even in plain text, without any shiny stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, just what I need to read. Trees are in many of my image works and you’re writing is wonderful. Sounds like you are grounded and making the right guided choices.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

