Creating a World

I created a new persona when I created this blog. The blog title says it all – the creation of Manee Trautz. It is the creation of my pen name. I decided to start blogging as a way to get the name out into the world. It is also a way to practice writing and building relationships with other bloggers.

I have enjoyed the time I have spent reading and writing in this blog world. I have not done as much as I had originally intended, but I plan on being more devoted now. Blogging truly is a way to explore the world from the comfort of my own home.

However, I have also been spending a considerable amount of time creating a complete fantasy world. A world unlike the world in which we spend our day to day existence. I have been enjoying this experience as well.

For the last 7 or so years I have been trying to write a book and I completed it this summer. I have done my own editing. A friend already read it and gave me support and praise and that has encouraged me that my new world is worthy of being introduced to the real world.

Now my book is in the hands of another friend who is editing it as well. I hope to get the book back and formatted by October 5, 2015 for publication. If it takes a little longer so be it. Everything happens at the exact moment it is supposed to happen. That’s my motto anyway.

Now the question is, how do I publish it? I am taking a publishing class for e-books and it is very in depth. There are so many choices that I am having trouble making. I could publish exclusively through Amazon, Barnes and Noble and other companies, or I could publish through Amazon and use a distributor called Smashwords to get the book into other stores. These are all for e-book versions.

But I want more. I want readers to be able to have the book actually in their hands if they do not use e-readers. Therefore I want to publish paperback books as well. I know I can do that through Amazon, I am not sure about the rest because my course only covers e-books.

I really am looking forward to the day when my book club members each have a copy of my paperback in their hands and a lively discussion is taking place over the content. That will be extremely exciting and rewarding.  I know it will happen. Positive thinking and all that.

Yes, I created a new world and hopefully in the next few weeks I will be introducing you to parts of that new world. Then you will have some background information to help you enjoy my book.

Now the question is, what venue should I choose? I decided to try to do a survey just to see what my readers think. I learned how to do this in my blogging course. I hope it is successful. Please feel free to comment if you have any thoughts.

About

I love gardening and magical beings. My profile is a garden ready to be created,

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Creating a World
  1. Solveig says:

    Ooo this sounds exciting. I recently read some articles about the different publishing venues, but I am rather confused now, as to what is best.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment