Never Stop Learning

I enrolled in an online program to teach me how to blog using WordPress. I would have thought I was learning the basics on my own, but even in the first lesson I learned something new.

I am doing this program using another site which, of course, I won’t link because it is just pretend. Even more pretend than Manee Trautz is. All that is being posted, so far, is cut and paste articles. Thus, you would not be interested in the content.

Because the purpose of the course is to help me make this blog the best it can be, I am going to do the assignments on that fictional blog first. Then I will try the activities on this site. So, please bear with me as I make some changes.

Funny thing is I accidentally posted this when I was trying to find the delay posting feature. I had a like before I even got to delete it. How awesome is that? I feel so popular! At least I learned how to delete a post.

Next step in the learning process is really organizing the categories. I did not know that I could have subcategories. I am really excited about that because I have been putting things into broad categories such as garden when it has anything to do with my gardens. But the truth is some people might like only the flowers and others might like only the critters. I can now have Garden as a master category and flowers and critters as subcategories.

A whole new world of organization is opening up to me.

Of course this lesson has made me aware that I had a lot of categories that are not really clear. I choose to consider this exciting rather than daunting. It will be a challenge to create the most appropriate categories and to label all posts accordingly.

I don’t know if my posts will be re-posted every time I change categories and tags. I hope not because that might get annoying for my followers and I do plan on reorganizing my older posts this week. So if you see a lot of activity on my site, it is probably just me reorganizing.

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Blogging Course, organizing
15 comments on “Never Stop Learning
  1. Anxious Mom says:

    Have fun 🙂 Sometimes my posts get reposted if I made edits to an already published post from the app on my phone. It annoys me immensely.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SD Gates says:

    You are a dedicated blogger. I should take a class too. Sounds like you can learn all kinds of useful information.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a little overwhelming.

      Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates says:

        Maybe I should not take the class, because then I would realize how many mistakes I had made, and then I would feel silly and inept and maybe I wouldn’t want to blog. But that might actually be a good thing because then I would stop putting off writing my second book. Hmm….I have to think about that!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Your book was awesome, I did not want to offend you, they were simple errors I highlighted if you want to know them. Do not put off your next book. My book is set in a boarding school, I am looking forward to yours. It would not be a good thing to put off your book!

        Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates says:

        Yes please, I would love it if you let me know what errors you found. We have been through it so many times – we just don’t see them all. Can’t afford an editor (which I know I am supposed to do) Is your book out? How funny – my next one is set in a boarding school as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • If I figure out how to send it through email and not publicly. … I do have a wife beater reference in my book. It made me laugh to read about a 4 year old wife beater. I asked my friend to check errors because it is ridiculous how much it costs for those of us who want to do it on our own.

        Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates says:

        I would really appreciate that!!!! I saw quotes for $2-3/page and I have two growing boys eating me out of house and home. Do you want me to send you my email? And just between you and me I didn’t make up the ghost with the wife-beater t-shirt on – he has really been seen at this one particular hospital. If you need a Beta reader (or whatever they call them), I would be more than happy to help!!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • that is a lot of money for those of us without a lot of money. I will send you the corrections. I am still trying to finish my book because I have friends who are willing to edit it for me. I will let you know if I need a Beta reader after that. Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates says:

        Okay – thanks so much!!!!

        Like

      • And, no, I am not published. You will likely find errors when I publish.

        Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates says:

        I even find errors in books that are big time authors that are traditionally published – but they are so much easier to see than those in one’s own manuscript.

        Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I’m testing the comment-on-an-old-post thing, but I was attracted to the title. We should never stop learning.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

