Flying away Saturday

Badge by: Doobster at Mindful Digressions

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for SoCS July 18/15

Time flies, and butterflies fly. Flies don’t seem to fly as much as they seem to hover and land on me and my food and anything that would be found to be most annoying. Then they hop up just for as much time as it takes to avoid the fly swatter. Flies are extremely annoying and that is probably why they are called pests.

Seriously, a song was written about how bothersome flies are. Its repetitive phrase goes: Shoo fly, don’t bother me, shoo fly don’t bother me, shoo fly don’t bother me, for I belong to somebody.

Now, in my memory this song has to do with slavery, but aside from that it is important to know that some things that fly are annoying. They are pests.

However, some so called pests are not so annoying.

image

Chair Time

If you look closely you will see a bunny rabbit under my  chair. It is a pest. Yes, this sweet little bunny did what the deer hadn’t yet attempted. It ate the flowers off my hostas close to the house. The deer devour the whole hosta, but the bunny (according to my human who often spies such atrocities – see poor flamingo with the berry juice on his back) jumped up on his hind legs in order to push the stem down so he could pick off each individual flower.

My human tried to shoo the bunny in the same way the singer of the song tries to shoo the flies. It did not work.

Often, when I am sitting in my garden, I see my friend, the bunny. He is still my friend though he may  not remain such if he continues to pick off the flowers of my plants. This silly little bunny dug into the gravel dust under the chair and plopped down to take a nap. Apparently I am not at all threatening.

Today, as I spent my lazy Saturday in a chair hoping time stops flying so quickly past, I watched this flower devouring bunny eat stalk after stalk of weeds growing in my yard. I told him I greatly appreciated his weeding properly. I don’t think he understood. I bet he only eats what I call a weed when I am watching and the flowers when I am not. I think he is devious.

I wonder if I still have my recipe for hossenfeffer. Probably not. Probably doesn’t matter anyway. I couldn’t harm my bunny any more than I can catch a fly with a fly swatter.

 

 

Today’s prompt was fly…. Try your own.

 

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in critters, Garden, Stream of Consciousness Saturday
14 comments on “Flying away Saturday
  1. Dan Antion says:

    I’m glad to see a like-minded bunny neighbor. Yes, they do some damage but…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, bunnies do what bunnies do. C’est le lapin. They need to eat, and it’s not like they know what the humans consider weeds and what they consider flowers. This is why we have fencing around the stuff we don’t want the bunnies to touch, i.e. the veg patch.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    Quite nice bunny, helping you weed.
    I have tons of bunnies, and I have to fight them in the spring when my seedlings go in. I plant marigolds around the seedlings and then wherever the bunnies go nibbling, begonias, coleus, brussel sprouts, I put some pet hair and pet poo. They don’t bother it after that. I haven’t found any missing hosta blooms, I suppose I’m suddenly grateful!
    I will never get over the shock of going out to find all of my coleus gone. For a moment, I thought I’d been the brunt of a human joke, or a human robbery. But no, just bunnies. Adorable, hungry bunnies.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LindaGHill says:

    Funny how flies always seem to know just when to take off, isn’t it? I’ll trade you a dozen squirrels for your bunny…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jetgirlcos says:

    Awww…he’s so *cute* ! I know they are “pests” but I love the bunnies in my backyard and I have even named them. Pierre and Lucie. I’m afraid for them because my husband said he saw an owl near our house last week 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  6. SD Gates says:

    I wish I had a bunny in my backyard.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just got back from vacation and found the bunny has gotten a lot larger. So have the weeds. Funny how a vacation leaves us with much more work when we return. I LOVED your book!

      Liked by 1 person

      • SD Gates says:

        I hope you had a lovely vacation. I am glad the bunny is thriving, but one would hope he would have eaten the weeds. I am so glad you enjoyed the book. That makes me so happy, happy, happy. Thank-you for taking the time to read it!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Gabriella says:

    I can comment…..and I might add that the bunny who visits my yard must be more devious than yours, as I can never seem to catch him the act . Maybe he’s invisible?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

