OH TO PUT A RING ON IT!

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for SoCS July 11/15

socs-badge

Today’s prompt is ring. This automatically made me think of Beyonce’s song Single Ladies (Put a Ring on it)

[www.youtube.com/watch?v=4m1EFMoRFvY].

I love that song! It is so upbeat and the video is tasteful, I wish I could dance like Beyonce.

I also wish I could put a ring on it. My finger that is, yes, I wish I could put a ring on it. But alas, I can’t.

You see I don’t think of the idea of putting a ring on my finger in exactly the same way Beyonce is referring. I don’t need a new ring, I just want to be able to wear the rings I have. One, two, any of them. That would be so nice.

I went to a jewelry party recently and confessed that I don’t wear jewelry. It is not because I don’t have any, or that I wouldn’t want to wear rings, it is because I can’t wear the rings I have.

One day last spring I was wearing a ring and my finger started to hurt. I looked at it and realized it was so swollen around the ring that it was turning blue. BLUE! It took me a long time to pull that ring off my finger. I was the center of attention at work while trying to get a ring off my finger. Of course I laughed and so did everyone else. It wasn’t hurtful laughter, it was just – oh well sometimes the only thing to do it laugh!

My finger hurt for days after that. It was bruised and there was an indentation where the ring had been. It kind of reminds me of corsets. The ring had been a corset on my finger, but I don’t want an hourglass finger.

You see, over the last twenty years I have gained 95 pounds. Yes, that IS a lot of weight gain. Those pounds did not just go to my waist, hips, thighs, ankles, etc.. It went to my fingers and probably my toes. Who knows, it may have even gotten to my nose and earlobes (sorry, sometimes I can’t resist a good rhyme).

I don’t want to join any groups for weight loss. I don’t want to join a gym. If you follow my blog you know I am physically active, I move tons of rocks, literally, and I squat in my garden and I swim in my pool and I walk my beast. I do get exercise. I don’t want to start eating any special program. I don’t want to substitute meals with a shake or a pill or a prepared frozen meal designed to make me lose weight. I just want to eat healthy food. I want to stop eating anything processed outside of my home. I am doing better with that. It is something that I do on a day to day basis.

Still, when the chips are brought into my house, I have trouble resisting. Let’s not even think about the wine. I would seriously whine without my wine.

I was a part of a small community where people gathered on a regular basis in the interest of fellowship. One day a man asked me, “Why are you getting so fat?” Seriously, that is exactly what he asked me. I just looked at him shocked. I have known this man for over twenty years and have had friendly banter with him during those years. For him to just come out and ask me that was shocking and I had no answer. I  could have listed a million things that caused me to eat or not get enough exercise or whatever, but the thing is, it is not his business. It was just so rude and I was so ashamed.

I may be overweight, but I am NOT THAT FAT! Just so fat that my rings don’t fit!

I wonder if it would surprise you to know that I stopped going to that community gathering. Yep, cut out the stress.

Now that it is summer I have been very active. I have been eating fresh berries I pluck off my own bushes. I have been drinking more water and less wine and I have been much happier.

I am so blessed to have many friends and I have spent quality time with them. I am moving forward with my blog and have been working on my book and I feel incredibly successful with what I am accomplishing.

I bought a new scale. It was not my best friend the first time I stood on it, but I am starting to really like it. It says it feels better when I stand on it. It says I have lost 15 pounds. I am starting to like it. It is starting to like me. I hope our relationship grows to the point where my scale likes me so much it will put a ring on my finger!

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in SoCS
9 comments on “OH TO PUT A RING ON IT!
  1. I cannot believe someone asked you that.

    “Why are you so thoughtless?”

    Ugh! No surprise you left that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. JoAnne says:

    I wonder if he had too much wine. Still not okay. Glad you are happier now. I enjoyed reading your stream of consciousness and how it came back around to the ring.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey says:

    You can have most rings resized in minutes at any jeweler. I had a large band done and it only cost me $15. Get your rings resized! Enjoy them again! 🙂
    The nerve of that man!
    I tell you, I have this friend, who is medically obese — she eats quite well, and she is always active. ALWAYS. She runs a lot, mini-marathons and whatnot. Coaches sports, swims daily. It doesn’t make much sense, so I do question why the weight stays on — BUT NOT TO HER FACE, FFS!
    Sorry, anyway, we’ve all got that one itty-bitty friend who eats as she pleases and never exercises, so it must go both ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hope Floats says:

    Oh yeah…fat. I couldn’t imagine anyone saying something like that to me! I know I’ve put on some extra chub…but really…? I have been losing weight “healthily” less food, more activity…it’s hard but it is coming off slowly. I do sneak in the occasional cheesecake…it’s sort of healthy right?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anxious Mom says:

    Now I’ll have that song in my head the rest of the day 😀

    And wow, that guy! Grr.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

