Remnants in Stone

perryville2

I took this picture because I thought the rocky shore was beautiful. I don’t think I would want to walk barefooted on it, but with water shoes I would love to plunge into the river and run back out.

I took the picture because I thought the way the water formed a small creek was interesting and I liked that there were large rocks forming a bridge.. I was wearing sneakers that I did not want to get wet and the bridge gave me the opportunity to explore further than I would have.

Now that I look at the picture I see not just stone. I see the fossilized bones of an ancient dragon. Do you see it? The face looks like a turtle’s. His long neck has been severed. That definitely explains the sad expression.

I wonder how our lives would be different if all those princess seeking lads hadn’t killed all the dragons.

Maybe if there had been environmental agencies in those days people would have protected the dragons. They might have had huge dragon farms with protected nesting. Little dragons might have been featured in petting zoos and people might have learned from them.

Imagine a world where we didn’t need bars or dating web sites. Instead, all the females would have dragons and they would marry whichever male was able to slay that dragon. Would that make it easier to find a mate?

Personally I am grateful to be able to meet someone and get to know them before becoming his mate for life, but I bet there are some who would enjoy having a beast slain for them.

I don’t know how society would handle the whole LGBT situation. Maybe they would have different colored dragons symbolizing female seeking male (female), male seeking female (male), or a female/male seeking – I don’t care, just kill the damn dragon so I can leave my tower!

I guess we’ll never know what it would be like to have dragons in our midst. I have captured on film the remnants of the last known dragon.

Oh, poor dragon, thank you for keeping my sneakers clean.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Remnants in Stone
  1. morphable says:

    Imaginative 🙂 and uh, LGBT? What’s that?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I might have written the letters in the wrong order, but LGBT stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bi-sexual, and Transgender. With the Supreme Court ruling that homosexuals had a right to be married, the modern dragons fights would have to be different from fairy tale dragons.
      Thank you for your complement.

      Like

  2. morphable says:

    Ah yes. Ignorance does have it’s drawbacks :/ You’re welcome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

