It Was a Dark Flamingo Night…

mourning sky

A sadness crept across Flamingo Fields. The flamboyance was nowhere near as cheerful as usual. They were simply moping around as if there were a terrible tragedy heading our way.

lean on my

There had been a terrible storm last night. As I drove through town, fulfilling my duties, I noticed a tree  was laying across my road. It was possible to pass it but dangerous if there were multiple vehicles. Fortunately a public road work vehicle was in the near distance. Limbs and leaves were listlessly laying about all lawns, fields, and passageways. The only surface untouched seemed to be the bridge which rose high above the treeline.

Still, the storm had passed, the sun was out, the weather was perfect. There was no conceivable reason for my flock to be so downhearted.

flamingo rock8

I went about my work singing Tim McGraw’s song,  “Just to see you smile, I’d do anything that you wanted me to.” They tilted their long necks so they could hear me better. My voice was soothing, yet not improving their mood.

go your own way

“What is wrong?” I tried to council them. They were simply distraught, so disheartened that they had no words to share. They were actually shedding tears.

It was pitiful indeed.

Not being able to bear their sadness anymore I went inside to check my phone and immediately had a complete understanding of the sorrow in the fields.

http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2015/06/23/416819751/man-who-created-the-pink-plastic-lawn-flamingo-dies

Donald Featherstone, the man behind their existence, is dead. He had suffered from Lewy body dementia.

I was curious. I knew people who suffered from Alzheimer’s. I wondered what Lewy body dementia is. I found a great article on About Health that compared the two diseases. http://alzheimers.about.com/od/typesofdementia/

We had to have a moment of silence, and a moment of mourning. I don’t know how long it will take for my flock to return to its usual flamboyant ways, but at least now I know what is wrong.

flamingo mourning3

One tried to wear a black hat but it did not fit well.

I thought it only fitting to shroud them with a black plastic bag

.  flamingo mourning2

Black plastic for my pink plastic flamingos.

flamingo mourning

At least they have each other.

I hope  Donald Featherstone, happy in the Great Beyond, may look upon my mourning flock and know just how much we appreciate the great joy he has brought into our lives. My he smile upon my sad flamboyance.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in flamingos
6 comments on “It Was a Dark Flamingo Night…
  1. joey says:

    Goodness. What a sad flamingo day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SD Gates says:

    I think it is so adorable that the pink flamingos were dressed in a black garbage bag. Only you my friend, only you!! :))

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I gave a friend a garden tour the other day. She looked at me and said, you really do have a lot of flamingos. Yeah, I am very fortunate! Also, maybe a little crazy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

