I Have a Bone to Pick

socs-badge

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for SoCS June 20/15

I really wonder where that expression comes from. I grew up telling stories with my father about all the silly strange expressions and where they might have originated. It was great fun and I think as tomorrow is Father’s Day a really great way to honor him..

I think it could have started off with the cavemen. No they did not use words in the same way we do, but I imagine the early father holding up the bone of some very large animal and offering it to his child. “Here, I have this bone, let’s pick it together.”

I think the child climbed up into his/her father’s fur covered lap and started picking at that bone. It was a great bonding moment.

Maybe they even let the mom in on the action. Maybe as they picked at the bone, they would talk in their own language. Maybe as they picked at the bone they started to form more words and that is how language really began.

I imagine the child picked off some meat and said, “this meat is dry, I like not dry meat.”

Then maybe the mother picked off a piece of meat and said, “This fire is smokey. You should get drier wood for the fire.”

Then the father picked a piece of meat off the bone and said, “You should get the wood yourself.”

Maybe that’s how I have a bone to pick became more than just taking the meat from a bone and instead meant complaining about something.

No matter how the expression developed, I have a bone to pick with WordPress.

I tried to find Linda Hill’s blog page and could not simply find it today. In Facebook I can type in a name and find that friend easily. If I want to look up a blog I follow I have to scroll through too much for my own ease.

There are so many other things I find frustrating.

Why does the font keep changing?

Why does my stats page keep changing?

Why can’t I find out who follows me if they are not WordPress members?

How do I find the help I need when there are no tutorials.

How can I possibly read all that there is to read?

I think I will stop complaining and check my fridge for a bone to pick. I am getting a little hungry.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Stream of Consciousness Saturday
7 comments on “I Have a Bone to Pick
  1. This made me LOL. That’s not to don’t feel your WordPress frustrations (I do!), but … the caveman bit transported me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. John Holton says:

    WordPress will drive you nuts if you think too hard about it. There might be a couple of tutorials on YouTube. As for the rest… ?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anxious Mom says:

    Ugh yes. So many times I’m on my phone and would like to pull up a specific blog but can’t, because there isn’t an option.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dellanioakes says:

    I like your theory of origin on the bone to pick expression. It always seemed rather obscure and a little gross to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

