If It’s Beyond Reach

Today’s Saturday Stream of Consciousness prompt is Almost. To find out about SSOC check out the following link.

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for SoCS May 30/15

I was thinking about watering the gardens. Some of them are just so far away and down the hill and just so far away and difficult that I tended not to water them. Tomorrow it is supposed to rain. I really hope it rains.

Then I noticed that the plants I have yet to plant are dying because they dry out so quickly. The little pots don’t hold water for very long. It is frustrating. But it is hot and I don’t want to plant them today. Wahhhhh.

I went outside and thought about watering the garden. I did not feel the energy. Then I noticed something curled up on the ground outside. I had noticed it before but in my mind it would not work. It was the garden hose that is most often used to fill the pool to optimum level. It is never used to water the gardens. Funny that it is named the “garden” hose when it is not used for the garden.

You see in the past the garden hose was not large enough to reach the gardens. It would just “ALMOST” reach, but it would be frustrating to get it all unraveled and not have it work.

Then I realized the angel garden is closer to the hose and I would at least be able to water that, saving myself some time.

When I went to lift the hose I realized it was much larger than I remembered, and I realized my hose must have been replaced with a new hose in a moment outside my memory. Well, I almost remember it.

So I took the hose and watered all the gardens around the front of the house and then walked around the back. I thought it might just almost reach the garden wall on the hillside. Guess what? I was able to reach all of the garden down the hill. I was pleasantly surprised.

It reminds me of a statement I heard growing up. Close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades. But I tried what I didn’t think would work because I thought maybe close would count. If I couldn’t reach the garden, at least the water would flow downhill and reach the garden. Well it went beyond what I had expected and I was well pleased.

I think about the word almost. It is not all, but it is most. I am glad the hose did not just almost reach, or reach most, it reached all the gardens. Well, truthfully it did not reach the gardens by the road, but they did not need to be watered, so it did not matter.

Anyway, I just love stream of consciousness because I don’t need to worry about grammar. Yay.

I challenge you to not give up on anything because you believe it will not work. Give it a try anyway, because the hose reached almost every garden and other things might finish almost all you need as well.

Please try the SSOC challenge yourself. It is fun.

I am a dreamer who loves to explore the world through words. I hope to inspire others to live in peace and be their best selves. I also have an affinity for flamingos, gnomes, and all things magical. They live happily in my gardens.

Tagged with:
Posted in May's Challenge
9 comments on “If It’s Beyond Reach
  1. Lovely metaphor.
    I’m dealing with a “too much hose” situation, making the weeds grow faster 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. herheadache says:

    Not all, but most. Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LindaGHill says:

    Lovely post, Manee! I felt like I was walking around your garden with you. Thanks for the inspiration! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. SD Gates says:

    I read somewhere that a weed is just an unappreciated plant!!! Great post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

